In this version of the tutorial, you will use mainly videos to guide you through the practice.
Workshop objectives:
After completing this workshop, you will be able to:
1. Identify educational issues related to citing sources in classroom research
2. Activate your account in NoodleTools.
3. Create citations.
4. Manage Citations: Share, export, merge.
5. Create and organize notes in NoodleTools.
6. Create the beginnings of a formatted paper in NoodleTools.
See complete course outline and objectives here.
To prepare for this workshop, please read these instructions:
It is recommended that you use two browsers for this activity:
Open a web browser (Safari, Firefox, Chrome, Explorer, etc.)
Open a second, separate browser window (not a tab), of the same or a different browser product.
Practice switching between the two browsers by using the command ALT and TAB. Hold down ALT, and hit TAB repeatedly to toggle between the browsers.
It is recommended that you use one browser to always keep the instructions open, and the other browser to work on NoodleTools.
If you are inside the school, you will be able to access most of the databases automatically.
To see the detail in the screen shots, press and hold the ctrl key while pressing the + key to zoom into your screen. The - key zooms back out.
If you are outside the school, you will need your school username and password to sign into some of the databases. In addition, depending on the date you complete this workshop, you may need a special username/password to view databases. This information will be provided in the tutorial.
Begin the workshop below, using the video guides version.
1. Introduction: Discussing Citations
This short video is included in both versions of the tutorial. Please watch the video before moving on with the written instructions.
What problems have YOU noticed when students need to cite their sources? Please answer this question in this survey, so you can see what other teachers have said.
2. Activate your account in NoodleTools
2. Activate your own, personal account using our Amity subscription.
View the video activity for Step 2:
Go to this custom Amity High School Noodle Tools sign-up, as instructed in the video.
3. Create citations
3.a. Create a project, assign project properties, share.
View the video activity for Step 3.a.
3.b. Create manual citations.
Create a manual citation for a journal article from a database. This is good practice, because articles found on the open web often do not include formatted citations.
View the video for Step 3.b.
View the article discussed in the video practice: “How Can We Enhance Enjoyment of Secondary School? The Student View”.
Compare your finished citation to the citation below. Notice that URLs are not needed in MLA, but can be included. (Note, as of 8/6/2016 this is MLA version 8).
Gorard, Stephen, and Beng Huat See. "How Can We Enhance Enjoyment of Secondary
School? The Student View." British Educational Research Journal, vol. 37,
no. 4, 2011, pp. 671-90. ERIC, search.ebscohost.com/
login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ933108&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Accessed 6 Aug. 2016.
3.c. Create copy-paste citations.
Create a COPY AND PASTE citation for a journal article from a database.
You will use same article again: “How Can We Enhance Enjoyment of Secondary School? The Student View
View the video for Step 3.c.
In this example, you will notice that the ready-make citation has a minor capitalization error. Can you find it? (Also note that as of 8/6/2016 this MLA citation is version 7, while NoodleTools is creating version 8).
Gorard, Stephen, and Beng Huat See. "How Can We Enhance Enjoyment Of Secondary School? The Student View." British Educational Research Journal 37.4 (2011): 671-690. ERIC. Web. 12 July 2016.
3.d. Create citations of non-database sources: Books.
Create a MANUAL citation for a print book.
3.d.1. For this step you will need to View the PDF of the book “Handbook of Social Influences in School Contexts”:
View the video for step 3.d.
3.d.4. Compare your finished citation to the citation below. Are there any differences?
Wentzel, Kathryn R., and Geetha B. Ramani, editors. Handbook of Social
Influences in School Contexts: Social-Emotional, Motivation, and Cognitive
Outcomes. New York, Routledge, 2016
3.e. Create citations of non-database sources: Web pages.
Create a MANUAL citation for a op-ed article from an online newspaper, originally in print.
Consider whether this is a faithful reproduction of the print article.
3.e.1. For this stepp you will need to view the article “More Than Half of Students 'Engaged' in School, Says Poll”.
View the video for Step 3.e.
3.e.4. Compare your finished citation to the citation below. Are there any differences?
You made have made some different choices, but the style here reflects the choice to cite this as a WEB PAGE in a web site, NOT as a magazine article, since some things, like the title, differ from the print version, and there is a statement that the online article includes revisions and updates. A note was also added in the citation about the relationship with the print article, which is optional.
Blad, Evie. "More Than Half of Students 'Engaged' in School, Says Poll."
Education Week, edited by Kevin Bushweller, Editorial Projects in
Education, 9 Aug. 2014, www.edweek.org/ew/articles/2014/04/09/
28gallup.h33.html. Accessed 6 Aug. 2016. Published in Print: April 16,
2014, as Poll: Majority of Students 'Engaged'
Manage Citations
4. Manage Citations: Organize, Share, export, change format, merge
NoodleTools allows you a number of options to manage your citations, but we are going to look at just a few:
Organize
Share
Export
Change format
Merge
View the video for Step 4
Create Notes
NoodleTools is great for creating, organizing, and sharing notes in any subject.
Students can:
- Create electronic notecards with quotations, paraphrases, or the own analysis.
- Link these cards to a text or multimedia source.
- Create groups of notecards under a shared category.
- Add topic “tags” to notecards to search by common elements.
- Share their notecards (or citations, and even draft or final papers) to a teacher dropbox.
Teachers can:
- View all student work live.
- Give feedback on student work, and require revision and response.
5. Create and organize notes in NoodleTools.
In this step you will practice how to work with notes:
Create notes
Group notes
Make an outline
Export notes
View the video for Step 5.
6. Create the beginnings of a formatted paper in NoodleTools
6.a. In reality, the “Paper” option does not do any automated formatting. It is simply a direct link to a Google Doc that is created from NoodleTools.
One suggestion is to build a paper by copying and pasting Notecards into the document created by the "Paper" command, as they are exported to Google Docs. Once all notes are compiled, and students begin writing, they can start to add citations and footnotes, if needed.
Assessment and Feedback:
In order to complete this workshop, you need to complete two short assessment/feedback assignments.