Skip to main content

Library Databases: Library Databases

This list of library databases is meant as a backup to the library web page, and is periodically updated to reflect changes there

Amity Databases Backup Current as of 2-25-2019

If you already know what online resource you want to search, here are our main databases: 

 

Picture

ABC-CLIO allows entry to the main portal page for all six ABC-CLIO databases.

Picture

ABC-Clio World History: The Modern Era offers a comprehensive electronic library of historical reference materials and interactive curricular units

Picture

ABC-Clio World at War presents comprehensive information and unique insights into the military conflicts that have defined our world from antiquity to today.

Picture

ABC-Clio American History  investigates the people, events, and themes of our nation’s evolution from the explorers of the Americas to today’s headlines

Picture
 
ABC-Clio American Government explains the foundations of our government, connects these concepts to the issues of the day, and examines the strengths and weaknesses of the political and economic systems of the United States by comparing them to those of other countries.
 

Picture

ABC Clio Issues explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
 

Picture

ABC Clio Pop Culture Universe authoritative digital database on popular culture in America, both past and present.
 

Picture
Academic Search COMPLETEcovers a wide range of academic disciplines, from the behavioral and technical sciences, through education, theatre, and many more. It includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals. This is the FULL version of Academic Search, and includes about 9,000 full-text journals, about double the number available in the Premier version. 
 
Picture
 
Picture
 
Picture
 
Picture
 
 
Picture
 
 
Picture
 
 
Picture

Picture

 
Picture
 
 
Picture
Auto Repair Reference Center has repair information for all makes and models of cars, as well as videos on how components work, and maintenance and troubleshooting tips.
 
The Biography Reference Center allows you to search for important figures throughout history, using useful categories like “Activists and Reformers”, or “First Ladies”, or by “Nationalities”. You can also browse alphabetically.  This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.
 
H.W. Wilson's Biography Reference bank contains biographical full text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work". This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.
 
The Chicago Manual of Style Online: Here are detailed guidelines for creating citations in your History classes. There are instructions for every imaginable kind of source. Remember, for the 2017-18 school year, Amity is using the 16th edition, so make sure you click on that area. 
 
Chronicling America's historic newspapers and "select digitized newspaper pages,(are) produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC). One of the best ways to search is to limit the search years, and then use really broad search terms, like “battle” (for WWI battles).
 
The Churchill Archive: is published by Bloomsbury Publishing, in collaboration with the Churchill Archives Centre. It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.
 
Connecticut History.Org is a program of CTHumanities, the state affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities, in partnership with UConn's Digital Media Center and the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media. It is a digital resource that includes links to other sites that provide information about Connecticut's towns.
 
Discovery Education has digital content, interactive lessons, real time assessment, virtual experiences. Students sign on with their Google @amityschools.org addresses and passwords. Teachers: If your regular username does not work, try firstname.lastname.
 
ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center is a clearinghouse for all things education.  Not just for teachers; many students use it for projects related to education This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login. 
 
eBooks and Audiobooks at RB Digital: You can find free ebooks and audiobooks through ResearchIt CT’s “A-to-Z” list. Sign up for an RB Digital account from inside school, and access it anywhere.  If you sign up from home, you will need to gain entry into RB Digital the first time with your local library card number as authorization.
 
Picture
 
Greenfile is a multidisciplinary source of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that makes connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines, such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login. 
 
Picture
 
The History Reference Center features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and academic journals. This content includes historical documents, biographies of historical figures,  full-text reference books, encyclopedias, history books, historical photos and maps, and historical video.  This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.
 
Picture


​iConn is now called ResearchIT CT (scroll down).
 

Picture
 
Picture
 
Picture
 
 JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
 
MagazinesAll three town libraries subscribe to a number of online magazines, like The Economist, The Atlantic, Newsweek, and Mother Jones, through a database called Zinio. To create an account you will need your Woodbridge, Bethany, or Orange library card.    .

MagazinesPopular Magazines, made available through the CT state library’s site, has a wide variety of magazines in database form, like The Atlantic, The New Yorker, Consumer Reports, Dirt Bike, and Field and Stream. 
From off campus, choose your magazine, look for “OpenAthens Login”. Find the Organization “Amity”, click on the high school, and use your Amity login.
 
Picture
 
Mainfile is a multi-disciplinary database that covers all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. It has information from scholarly journals and full-text magazines, as well as full-text newspapers, newswires, reference books, and encyclopedias. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.
 
Picture
 
MAS Ultra School Edition contains hundreds of popular high school magazines in many subject areas including history, science, careers and much more. Some titles are Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Congressional Digest, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II. MAS Ultra also has biographies and primary source documents, and an Image Collection containing photos. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.
 
Picture
 
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents in business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more, as well as an Image Collection containing photos, maps, and flags. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.
 
Picture
 
 
Picture
 
Picture
 
 
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
 

National Institute of Mental Health is a part of the U.S. government’s NIH (National Institutes of Health).

 
New York Times Replica Edition (username AND password: 200330264) The Times Replica gives you every page of The Times on your computer or iPad, exactly as it is in print. You can listen to articles read aloud, and even save PDFs of each page. Play around with the different viewing and search functions.
 
Picture
 
 
 
Picture
 
Picture
 
 
Picture
 
 
Picture
 
 
Picture
 
 
Picture
 
 
Picture
Picture
 
Picture
 
 
Picture
 
News and Newspapers, (also called News and Issues, depending on where you access it) is a ProQuest database available from ResearchItCT (iConn). Search for articles from current newspapers from about the 1980s to the present, such as the Chicago Tribune (1985-), Christian Science Monitor (1988-), Hartford Courant (1992-), Los Angeles Times(1985-), New York Times (1980-), Wall Street Journal (1984-), and the Washington Post (1987-).  There are also historical Connecticut newspapers, including the Hartford Courant (1766-1922) and the Connecticut Courant. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.
Newspapers of Connecticut collection includes a sampling (not a full range) of newspapers covering various towns, villages, and topics ranging from 1821-1929. Some of these articles have been arranged by topic, like World War I.
 
Newspaper Source Plus is a database that provides full-text searching for more than 1,400 newspapers from all around the world. Videos and podcasts are coming soon. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.
 
Newspapers: A number of historic newspapers are available from Chronicling America at the Library of Congress.
NoodleTools is Amity’s new subscription citation and note-taking platform.  Like Easybib, it allows you to link notes you write to the specific citation the information comes from in an article, book, or web source. You can then organize your notes, and create an outline to organize your paper.
Once you sign up for your own, full-service premium account, you will be able to access your citations and notes from anywhere!
The “OED”, or Oxford English Dictionary is considered (by its publisher) to be the “accepted authority” on the English language. It has more than 600,000 entries and includes information on their “etymology”, or how they have evolved over time, illustrated with examples from the history of the printed word in English. The electronic version is updated every 3 months to keep it current. Read theseinstructions about how to get a special STATE library card (not a regular library card) so you can use the OED.
Log in with CT state library card.
Log in with 2018-19 special access: Username: OED90Connecticut; Password: accessConn
 
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. You can filter your results for full-text only, or if you find a great article that you can’t see, then go to another database to see if they have that journal.

ResearchIT CT, all resources A to Z. This State Library of Connecticut resource, allows you to read full-text articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, journals), and to access a number of ebooks and audiobooks. For off-campus access to many of the databases in the A to Z list, use the links on this Amity Library database page to sign in with your Amity login. Some other resources will require you to log in with the barcode number from your local CT library card. 

ResearchIT CT "One Search".  This tool links all EBSCO databases available through the State Library of Connecticut. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.
Science in Context, by Gale-Cengage (not subscribed in 2018-19): This user-friendly resource provides millions of full-text articles from hundreds of national and global newspapers, magazines, and journals. Offers thousands of images, videos, and audio selections from authoritative sources, and reference content from Gale and other encyclopedias.
 
Science News: The magazine for the society for science and the public. This is one of the magazines available through ResearchIT CT's Popular Magazinedatabase. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.
 
Science Reference Center has articles on a wide range of topics in science.  You can browse through different subjects, or look at broad science areas. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.
 
Picture
 
SIRS provides resources for many subject areas: arts and humanities, government, civics, economics, world events, 20th Century history.
 
Picture
 
 
EBSCO Small Engine Repair Reference Center provides detailed maintenance and repair information from manufacturers of every kind of engines from all-terrain vehicles, to outboard motors.
Amity High School, Amity Region 5 School District, Woodbridge, CT 06525, 203-397-4844 Librarians: Robert F. Musco and Victoria Hulse Copyright 2017