AHS Subject Guides: History: Hastings: History

Introduction to Citations and References with NoodleTools (updated R. Musco 3-2018)

Information literacy topics:

• Organizing source citations
• References
• Using technology tools

Objective: To understand and define the concept of a research “citation”, and to use a web citation generator (NoodleTools) to create citations and bibliographic references.

 

1: Find the activities for this class, at:

Google Search→Amity Library

(tab) Find Online Stuff→By Subject→History

(tab) Hastings History→Creating Citations in NoodleTools

 

Part A: Understanding and Creating Citations

 

2. Discuss objective.

 

3. Answer the question:

• “What is a citation?”

View the video, “NoodleTools Tutorial Introduction”, Start at 00:41 sec, and eliminate the wait time for responses if needed.

 

4. Answer the question, “What kind of source is this?” (see below). What parts of the citation can you identify?

 

Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." In World History: The Modern Era, ABC-CLIO. Accessed September 19, 2017. http://worldhistory.abc-clio.com

 

5. Sign up for your account in NoodleTools.

 

Activate your own, personal account using our Amity subscription.

5.a. Go to this custom Amity High School Noodle Tools sign-up.

5.b. Click “REGISTER” at the bottom to sign up for a new account.

 

5.c. Only if you are outside the school. If you are in school, skip to next step.

Leave the default choice of “An account linked to a school/library subscription”.

Fill in the School/Library Password (ahs) and click “Continue”.

 

5.d. Leave the default choice of “An account linked to a school/library subscription”.

Fill in the New User Registration information, and click “REGISTER”. (Your Personal ID, which is your user name, can be a name or an email address.)

 

5.e. Go to “My Account” in the upper right and “My Profile” in the dropdown menu.

 

5.f. Fill in all the information. If you put in your amityschools.org Google address in “Google Account ID”, you will be able to link to Google Docs.

Click “Save Profile”.

 

6. Create a project to begin citations.

6.a. Click on “New Project”.

 

6.b. Enter a “Project Title”.

6.c. Choose “Chicago/Turabian” style (for this History class), and click the “Advanced” citation level for full functionality. Click “Submit”.

 

6.d. Write a “Research Question” (think of something related to your topic).

6.e. Write a “Thesis” statement. This is the statement or question you will prove or discuss.

6.f. Click the “Projects” tab to view your project list.

 

6.g. Click on the name of your project to open it.

 

6.h. Click on the “Sources” tab. You are now ready to cite a source.

 

7. Create a COPY AND PASTE citation for a database article.

7.a. Go to this article from the ABC-Clio database World History: The Modern Era, titled “Breakthroughs in Science.”

7.b. Click on “CITE” in the top of the page.

7.c. COPY the citation (use Chigago format).

7.d. Return to NoodleTools, and click on “Create a New Citation”.

7.e. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Note that the choice here refers to WHERE the source was found, not what KIND of source it is. Choose “Database”.

7.f. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”.Choose “Original Content in Database” (because the citation shows this article was written for this database).

 

7.g. Click “Quick Cite”: Copy & Paste Citation”.  Paste in the citation you copied.

7.h. Click “Submit”. Look at your citation.

You can check the accuracy of your citation by looking at the Chicago style guide HERE.

 

Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." In World History: The Modern Era, ABC-CLIO, 2017. Accessed September 19, 2017. https://worldhistory.abc-clio.com/Topics/Display/25.

​8. Create a MANUAL citation for a database article.

8.a. Go to the same article from the ABC-Clio database World History: The Modern Era.

8.b. From the Sources tab, click on “Create a New Citation”.

8.c. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Once again choose “Database”.

8.d. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”. Once again choose “Original Content in Database” (because the citation shows it was written for this database).

 

 

8.e. Start filling in as much information as you can, copying from the article, and adjusting the text as needed. Notice the pop-up hints.

8.f. Click “Submit”.

8.g. Compare your finished citation to the citation below. You can check the accuracy of your citation by looking at the Chicago style guide HERE.

Helpful pointers:

• There seems to be no published date.
• You can assume that the ID number is the same as a database accession number.

Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." World History: The Modern Era.  http://worldhistory.abc-clio.com.

    

8.h. Now compare your two citations.

Copy/paste

Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." In World History: The Modern Era, ABC-CLIO, 2017. Accessed September 19, 2017. https://worldhistory.abc-clio.com/Topics/Display/25.

 

Manual with NoodleTools

Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." World History: The Modern Era.  http://worldhistory.abc-clio.com.

 

In this case, neither citation (original article from a reference database) is completely accurate. The corrected form would be:

 

Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." In World History: The Modern Era, ABC-CLIO. Accessed September 19, 2017. http://worldhistory.abc-clio.com

 

Explanations of differences (quoted material from Chicago Manual of Style online):

• ABC-CLIO’s citation generator says it is using Chicago 16.
• This article is “original content” from a database. ABC-CLIO seems to be citing it using Chicago’s format for online reference encyclopedias.
• Database name: Here the database name seems to be treated like an online encyclopedia, which is why the copy paste uses ABC-CLIO as the publisher.
• Date of publication: There is none, so the 2017 is wrong.
• Date of access: You should have an access date. "For items that do not include a publication or revision date, include an access date."
• URL: “If the article includes a recommended form for the URL, include it; otherwise, include a short form of the URL.”

 

9. Student practice: Create an MANUAL citation for a database article.

Create a MANUAL citation for a database article.

9.a. Go to this article titled: “British Textiles Clothe the World”, from the EBSCO publishing company’s database History Resource Center.

9.b. Back in NoodleTools, from the Sources tab, click on “Create a New Citation”.

9.c. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Once again choose “Database”.

9.d. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”. Choose “Magazine” because this is an article in a magazine called “History Today”.

9.e. Start filling in as much information as you can, copying from the article:

• DOI (Direct Object Identifier): there is none listed
• URL: find the "permalink" on the right, because it does not change.
• Name of database: find it
• Database accession number: find it
• Most recent date of access: (Not needed for this format)
• Author: find THEM
• Article title: find it
• Pages: find it
• Name of journal: find it
• Volume: find it (Not needed for this format)
• Issue: find it (Not needed for this format)
• Publication date: find it
• Series: there is none listed (Not needed for this format)

9.f. Click “Submit”.

9.g. Compare your finished citation to the citation below. You can check the accuracy of your citation by looking at the Chicago style guide HERE.

 

Hopley, Claire. "British Textiles Clothe the World." British Heritage, September 2006, 28. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=khh&AN=21350164&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

 

9.10. Now compare your finished citation to the copy-paste citation provided by EBSCO. Look at the differences (possibly due to different chicago versions, and errors in NoodleTools).

 

Manual:

Hopley, Claire. "British Textiles Clothe the World." British Heritage, September 2006, 28. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=khh&AN=21350164&site=ehost-live&scope=site.  

 

Copy/Paste provided by History Resource Center

Hopley, Claire. "British Textiles Clothe the World." British Heritage 27, no. 4 (September 2006): 28-33. History Reference Center, EBSCOhost (accessed September 19, 2017).

 

In this case, the manual citation is the more correct citation, though the URL might be problematic because you can’t see anything without logging in.

 

Explanations of differences (quoted material from Chicago Manual of Style online):

• EBSCO’s citation seems to still be using the Chicago 15th edition.
• EBSCO’s citation is more apt for an academic journal, not a magazine because no volume number is needed.
• Date of publication: "Magazines, even if numbered by volume and issue, are usually cited by date only." "Indispensable for newspapers and most magazines is the specific date (month, day, and year).
• Date of access: "Access dates are not required by Chicago in citations..."  "For items that do not include a publication or revision date, include an access date."  "When they are included, they should immediately precede the DOI or URL, separated from the surrounding citation by commas in a note and periods in a bibliography entry”
• Page number: "While a specific page number may be cited in a note, the inclusive page numbers of an article may be omitted, since they are often widely separated by extraneous material. When page numbers are included, a comma rather than a colon separates them from the date of issue."
• Database name: If there is no stable or persistent form of the URL, "include the name of the database and, in parentheses, any identification number provided with the source."
• URLs or DOIs: "When citing items such as news or journal articles obtained through a third-party commercial database...include a URL, but only if the database includes a recommended stable or persistent form .... Otherwise, include the name of the database and, in parentheses, any identification number provided with the source.  
• "Authors need only include an article’s DOI to indicate that an electronic version was cited."" If using a URL, use the address that appears in your browser’s address bar when viewing the article (or the abstract) unless a shorter, more stable form of the URL is offered along with the electronic article."

10. Student practice: Create a MANUAL citation from a web source.

Create a MANUAL citation from a web source.

10.a. Go to this article entitled “The Rise of Technology and Industry”, from the website: The British Library: Victorian Britain.

10.b. Back in NoodleTools, from the Sources tab, click on “Create a New Citation”.

10.c. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Once again choose “Website”.

10.d. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”. Choose “Web page” because this online article is really a page in the larger museum web site.

10.e. Start filling in as much information as you can, copying from the article:

• URL: find it
• Date of publication: find it; if none, leave it blank.
• Most recent date of access: use today
• Contributors: find the author
• Web Page or document/article title: Find the article title
• Name of the website: find it (not the same as the publisher)
• Publisher of the site: Find it (bottom of page)
• Editors of the site as a whole: hard to find. We'll talk about this.

10.f. Click “Submit”.

10.g. Compare your finished citation to the citation below. You can check the accuracy of your citation by looking at the Chicago style guide HERE.

 

Picard, Liza. "The Rise of Technology and Industry." British Library: Victorian Britain. Last modified October 14, 2009. Accessed September 21, 2017. http://www.bl.uk/victorian-britain/articles/the-rise-of-technology-and-industry

 

Explanations(quoted material from Chicago Manual of Style online):

• The best fit for this source is as a web site, since it is not exactly a database, and this article is written as a web page within the web site.
• The access date is not needed, because the rules call for including “a publication date or date of revision or modification...; if no such date can be determined, include an access date.”

Cite your sources within your paper.

• How do you cite the article in the body of your paper?
  • Chicago includes two basic documentation systems: notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and author-date style (sometimes called reference list style). We are using the notes-bibliography style.
  • The basics of the note-bibliography style are as follows: Whenever you need to cite a source, a superscript number is placed in the text at the end of the sentence or part of the sentence. A normal-sized number corresponding to that reference is placed at the end of the page or the end of the section (your teacher’s choice). The first time a source is used at the bottom of the page, the entire citation form is used.  The second time it is used at the bottom it is shortened (see rules). When the same source is used twice or more in a row, you write “ibid” (which means “the same”), and change page number if needed. The bibliography at the end includes all sources with their complete citation forms, in alphabetic order.
  • Look at this Chicago notes and bibliography style sample paper.
• You will need to follow the instructions and examples from a reliable source, like the writing experts at Purdue University’s CHICAGO style pages.
• Before you finish your citations, check them against our Amity Librarian Chicago Style Cheat Sheet!

Part B: Creating and Organizing Notes in NoodleTools

 

1. Create a new note in NoodleTools.

1.a. If you are in “Sources”, click on the “Notecards” tab.

If you are on the “Projects” page, click on your practice project to get to the “Dashboard” tab. Once there, click on the “Notecards” tab.

 

1.b. Click “+New” to create a new note.

 

1.c. Write a “Title” that represents the basic idea of your note.

1.d. Choose one of your source citations from the dropdown menu.

1.e. Cut and paste a “Direct quotation”, a “paraphrase or summary”, or an original “My idea”.

1.f. Take the time to create a well-written note NOW, that could get slotted right in your paper.

 

1.g. Be sure to add a “Tag” which should represent the specific topic or theme of the note. Be specific, because you will use tags to group similar notes together. Tags with more than one word should be in quotes.

1.h. Click “Save and Close”.

1.i. Create a second note in the same way for the same article, or another article. You need two notes for the next step. You may find that one note obscures the other on the desktop; just drag it off.

 

 

2. Group notes together by common topics/themes.

2.a. Drag one note on top of the other, and release it to create a “Pile” (terrible name).

2.b. Name your “Pile” . A “Pile” name can be a category/theme/topic that both notes address. We are pretending that the two notes deal with the same specific topic.

2.c. Click OK.

2.d. Create two more new notes, and make a new “Pile”.

 

 

3. Convert notes to outlines.

3.a. Click the “Add+” button to create a few headings. You can change the name of topics by double-clicking, and rearrange the hierarchy by dragging and dropping.

 

 

3.b. Now DRAG one of your piles, or loose notes, right on top of any outline heading on the right until the heading is highlighted, and DROP it there.  It will now appear as a note in that heading of the outline. You can rearrange the notes in the outline by dragging and dropping.

 

4. Export or print notes.

 

4.a. On the Notecard desktop, click “Print” to export your saved notes.

4.b. Notice the export options.  Choose one, and practice downloading exported notes. Note that choosing Google requires signing into your Google account.

 

8. Cite your sources within your paper. How? See notes below.