American Government and Economic Policy
Introduction to Online Sources/Intro to Noodletools (updated 1-2018, V. Hulse)
1. Objective: To distinguish between different formats of research materials available online and determine the level of authority of the information, and to develop and practice searching strategies for relevant information, correctly cite information, and develop an annotated bibliography.
2. Present overview of database sources:
Discussion (brainstorm, comment):
Where do you look for online information?
3. School Product Database Sites (paid subscription $$$):
Example:
ABC Clio: American Government
3.a. Practice: Search American Government to find a relevant article that addresses your topic.
Choose an article, skim it--What useful information immediately caught your attention?
How will this database help your research?
4. Multi-disciplinary Academic Database: (paid subscription $$$):
Example:
ESBCO: ResearchIT CT OneSearch
4.a. Discussion: Multi-disciplinary Academic Database:
Main points:
4.b. Student practice: Students search
EBSCO’s ResearchIT CT OneSearch : Find a relevant article or video that addresses your topic.
Save results.
Choose an article, skim it.
Fill in this Google form about the article or source you found.
4.c. Share samples--Discuss
5. Free Web Sites/YouTube
Additional Tips:
6. Introduction to Noodletools for citing sources and developing an annotated bibliography
Go to noodletools.com→sign in→your username is your regular Amity username and password (ex. smithjo19)
Watch video.
7. Student Practice:Create a project to begin citations.
7.a. Click on “New Project”.
7.b. Enter a “Project Title”.
7.c. Choose “Chicago/Turabian” style (for this History class), and click the “Advanced” citation level for full functionality. Click “Submit”.
7.d. Write a “Research Question” (think of something related to your topic).
7.e. Write a “Thesis” statement. This is the statement or question you will prove or discuss.
7.f. Click the “Projects” tab to view your project list.
7.g. Click on the name of your project to open it.
7.h. Click on the “Sources” tab. You are now ready to cite a source.
8. Practice citing a source--Practice submitting the article you found earlier.
Submit your citation here: https://goo.gl/iF6qcn
You can check the accuracy of your citation by looking at the Chicago style guide HERE or the Amity guide.
9. Tips for writing the “perfect” annotated bibliography.
9.a Create citation in Noodletools.
9.b For the annotation, 3 steps:
1.Summarize the source. Reproduce the author’s main ideas in your own
words. Be careful to change the wording and the structure as you put the
information from the source into your own words.
2. Analyze the source--Ask yourself questions such as the following:
--Is there enough relevant information to address my narrow
focus?
--Does the author delve deeply into the subject as opposed to
offering a general overview?
--What type of evidence does the author use?
--Does the author use statistical information accurately, to the
best of my knowledge?
3. Evaluate the source’s usefulness to the narrow focus of your research.
--Make connections between the source and your focus for your
project.
World History (updated 9-2018, R. Musco)
Introduction to Citations, References, and Note-taking with NoodleTools
Information literacy topics:
-Taking notes
-Organizing source citations
-References
-Using technology tools
Objective: To understand and define the concept of a research “citation”, and to use a web citation generator, NoodleTools, to create citations and bibliographic references, and organize notes.
1: Find the activities for this class, at:
Amity website→High School→AHS Library Information Center
(tab) Find Online Stuff→By Subject→History
(tab) Class Projects →Cumpstone→ Introduction to Citations, References, and Note-taking with NoodleTools
Part A: Understanding and Creating Citations
2. Discuss objective.
3. Answer the question, “What kind of information is included in a citation?”
4. Answer the question, “What kind of source is this?” (see below). What parts of the citation can you identify?
Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." In World History: The Modern Era, ABC-CLIO. Accessed September 19, 2017. http://worldhistory.abc-clio.com
5. Sign up for your account in NoodleTools.
Activate your own personal account through your @amityschools.org Google account.
Go to the NoodleTools log-in screen.
Enter your @amityschools.org Google account email.
Click “Sign In with Google”.
Re-enter your Amity Google account email, and your Google password.
For 7th/8th/9th Grades: (other grades, look here).
Click on “Create a new account”.
Click “Submit”.
Next:
Choose “I am a student”.
Click “Submit”.
Choose your graduation year.
Click “Save Profile”.
Under “My Profile” make sure your first and last names are complete.
You are now in Noodle Tools!
Your new username is your Google @amityschools.org email address and password.
6. Create a project to begin citations.
6.a. Click on “New Project”.
6.b. Enter a “Project Title”.
6.c. Choose “Chicago/Turabian” style (for this History class), and click the “Advanced” citation level for full functionality. Click “Submit”.
6.d. Write a “Research Question” (think of something related to your topic).
6.e. Write a “Thesis” statement. This is the statement or question you will prove or discuss.
6.f. Click the “Projects” tab to view your project list.
6.g. Click on the name of your project to open it.
6.h. Click on the “Sources” tab. You are now ready to cite a source.
7. Create a COPY AND PASTE citation for a database article.
7.a. Go to this article from the ABC-Clio database World at War, titled “Breakthroughs in Science.”
7.b. Click on “CITE” in the top of the page.
7.c. COPY the citation (use Chigago format).
7.d. Return to NoodleTools, and click on “Create a New Citation”.
7.e. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Note that the choice here refers to WHERE the source was found, not what KIND of source it is. Choose “Database”.
7.f. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”.Choose “Original Content in Database” (because the citation shows this article was written for this database).
7.g. Click “Quick Cite”: Copy & Paste Citation”. Paste in the citation you copied.
7.h. Click “Submit”. Look at your citation.
Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." In World History: The Modern Era, ABC-CLIO, 2018. Accessed September 23, 2018. https://worldhistory.abc-clio.com/Topics/Display/25.
8. Create a MANUAL citation for a database article.
8.a. Go to the same article from the ABC-Clio database World History: The Modern Era.
8.b. From the Sources tab, click on “Create a New Citation”.
8.c. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Once again choose “Database”.
8.d. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”. Once again choose “Original Content in Database” (because the citation shows it was written for this database).
8.e. Start filling in as much information as you can, copying from the article, and adjusting the text as needed. Notice the pop-up hints.
8.f. Click “Submit”.
Helpful pointers:
-Did you fill in the date you got the article?
-Did you use the HOME page URL since the article URL was so long and complicated?
-There seems to be no published date.
-You can assume that the ID number is the same as a database accession number.
Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." World History: The Modern Era. http://worldhistory.abc-clio.com.
8.g. Now compare your two citations.
Copy/paste
Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." In World History: The Modern Era, ABC-CLIO, 2018. Accessed September 23, 2018. https://worldhistory.abc-clio.com/Topics/Display/25.
Manual with NoodleTools
Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." World History: The Modern Era. http://worldhistory.abc-clio.com.
In this case, neither citation (original article from a reference database) is completely accurate. The corrected form would be:
Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." In World History: The Modern Era, ABC-CLIO. Accessed September 19, 2017. http://worldhistory.abc-clio.com
9. Student practice: Create an MANUAL citation for a database article.
Create a MANUAL citation for a database article.
9.a. Go to this article titled: “British Textiles Clothe the World”, from the EBSCO publishing company’s database History Resource Center.
9.b. Back in NoodleTools, from the Sources tab, click on “Create a New Citation”.
9.c. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Once again choose “Database”.
9.d. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”. Choose “Magazine” because this is an article in a magazine called “History Today”.
9.e. Start filling in as much information as you can, copying from the article:
-DOI (Direct Object Identifier): there is none listed
-URL: find the "permalink" on the right, because it does not change.
-Name of database: find it
-Database accession number: find it
-Most recent date of access: (today's date)
-Author: find it
-Article title: find it
-Pages: find it
-Name of journal: find it
-Volume: find it
-Issue: find it
-Publication date: find it
-Series: there is none listed
9.f. Click “Submit”.
Hopley, Claire. "British Textiles Clothe the World." British Heritage, September 2006, 28-33. https://search.ebscohost.com.
9.10. Now compare your finished citation to the copy-paste citation provided by EBSCO. Look at the differences (possibly due to different chicago versions, and errors in NoodleTools).
Manual:
Hopley, Claire. "British Textiles Clothe the World." British Heritage, September 2006, 28-33. https://search.ebscohost.com.
Copy/Paste provided by History Resource Center
Hopley, Claire. "British Textiles Clothe the World." British Heritage 27, no. 4 (September 2006): 28-33. History Reference Center, EBSCOhost (accessed September 19, 2017).
In this case, the manual citation is the more correct citation, though the URL might be problematic because you can’t see anything without logging in.
10. Create a MANUAL citation from a web source.
10.a. Go to this article entitled “Women and the Revolution”, from the website:
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution, a joint project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (George Mason University) and American Social History Project (City University of New York)
10.b. Back in NoodleTools, from the Sources tab, click on “Create a New Citation”.
10.c. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Once again choose “Website”.
10.d. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”. Choose “Web page” because this online article is really a page in the larger museum web site.
10.e. Start filling in as much information as you can, copying from the article:
-URL: find it
-Date of publication: find it; if none, leave it blank.
-Most recent date of access: use it
-Contributors: find the author
-Web Page or document/article title: Find the article title
-Name of the website: find it (not the same as the publisher)
-Publisher of the site: Find it (bottom of page)
-Editors of the site as a whole: hard to find. We'll talk about this.
10.f. Click “Submit”.
Hunt, Lynn, and Jack Censer, eds. "Women and the Revolution." Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution. Accessed October 6, 2016. http://chnm.gmu.edu/revolution/chap5a.html#.
Citing your sources within your paper
-How do you cite the article in the body of your paper?
-Chicago includes two basic documentation systems: notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and author-date style (sometimes called reference list style). We are using the notes-bibliography style.
The basics of the note-bibliography style are as follows: Whenever you need to cite a source, a superscript number is placed in the text at the end of the sentence or part of the sentence. A normal-sized number corresponding to that reference is placed at the end of the page or the end of the section (your teacher’s choice). The first time a source is used at the bottom of the page, the entire citation form is used. The second time it is used at the bottom it is shortened (see rules). When the same source is used twice or more in a row, you write “ibid” (which means “the same”), and change page number if needed. The bibliography at the end includes all sources with their complete citation forms, in alphabetic order.
-You will need to follow the instructions and examples from a reliable source, like the writing experts at Purdue University’s CHICAGO style pages.
-Look at the sample Chicago “Footnotes and Bibliography” paper on our History guide.
Online Resources: Newspapers and Magazines
ZINIO magazine service
Available through public libraries in the Lion Libraries system (including Bethany, Orange, Woodbridge, and (many more on this map)
Log on to your public library with your library card, find the e-magazine link (the database is called ZINIO), and create an account on Zinio.
Looks like a real magazine on screen!
Magazines available from Zinio:
iCONN:Welcome to iCONN.org, Connecticut’s re-search engine. Here you will find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles for Connecticut public, K12, and academic libraries and their users. One-click access from school, use your local CT Library card from home.Works like a database to search for articles, AND you can browse articles
iCONN Popular Magazines
iCONN Newspapers
Available from iCONN:
The New York Times Replica Edition:
Every page of The Times on your computer or iPad, exactly as it is in print. You can listen to articles read aloud, and even save PDFs of each page. Play around with the different viewing and search functions.
TIME Magazine: National and international news, behavior, books, business, cinema, law, education, environment, modern living, music, nation, press, religion, theater, video and world.
The Wall Street Journal: Business and economics. Finance news.
P. Downhour
US History II
Introduction to Research Resources
Objective: To understand and practice how to access and search online sources for research.
1. Go to activity guide online at:
Amity website→High School→AHS Library Information Center
Find Online Stuff→By Subject→History→Class Projects →Downhour
Search our library catalogs from Destiny Quest to find all our printed books, magazines and journals, textbooks, encyclopedias, music CDs, movies (DVD and VHS).
A number of books have been reserved on the following topics and placed on carts.
School Product Database Sites:
A. ABC Clio : American Government
*comprehensive electronic library of historical reference materials
B. SIRS,
*mix of periodicals
C. JSTOR
* includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
*online video allowing students and researchers to analyze events in America's history, and their presentation over time through different media
Discuss features of the online research tools and allow for individual searching.
Project Directions -
The webpages below lay out the directions and topic questions. The directions are the same for all periods the topic questions differ somewhat between periods
Periods 2 and 5
Periods 1 and 3
