Lambrecht: English I
English I (updated 4-2022)
Information literacy topics:
- Determining best sources
- Searching strategies for information
- Using technology tools
Objective: To search effectively for op-eds in databases or on websites, to cite op-eds in MLA format using Noodletools.
AHS Learning Expectations:
- Academic-Writing: “Students will produce and distribute a variety of writing designed to entertain, inform, or argue, as well build and present knowledge derived from research.”
- Academic-Problem-solving: “Students will use appropriate tools strategically to solve problems.”
ISTE Student Standard
Knowledge Constructor - 3d: Students build knowledge by actively exploring real-world issues and problems, developing ideas and theories and pursuing answers and solutions.
1. Where to read Op-Eds online
1. Free online editions: Many dailies have an online edition, which is freely available. They usually have an opinion section, which may or may not be the same as the print edition. In fact, it will usually have MORE opinion pieces from digital collaborators.
2. Digital newspaper subscriptions: These usually look like the print version, and you can often actually flip pages. We do not have any of these.
3. Database newspaper content: These are set up like regular databases. You can often see a list of all the articles from a particular date, or search by topic, keyword, author, etc.
2. Database newspaper content: “News and Newspapers” (from ProQuest)
Searching tips:
Click “Publications” to choose a newspaper.
Look under “W” for Wall Street Journal.
Choose a format (e.g. Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition)
Just want to browse articles? Leave other search bar empty.
Advanced Search (notice that the search term that appears automatically limits searches to this publication)
Limit in “Document Type” to “Editorial” and “Commentary”
Want to search a topic? Enter search terms.
Note: You can also limit by Document Type from the view of all your results.
3. Database newspaper content: “SIRS” (from ProQuest)
Searching tips:
Click Advanced Search
Limit Source Type to “Newspapers”.
Want to search a topic? Enter search terms.
Read the summary and look for words like “letter to the editor”, “point of view” or
“editorial” to ensure the article is indeed an op-ed.
4. Practice
Find “News and Newspapers” (from ProQuest) in the Amity Library Database list.
Create a citation for the following article: “Fewer kids read for fun…”
Student Instructions
English I
Embedding/Blending Quotations and MLA Citations (updated 9-2019)
Information Literacy Topics:
Objective: To understand how to effectively embed/blend quotations into writing, to cite evidence (direct quotes) using MLA citation style.
Learning Expectations:
During class:
Objective: To understand how to effectively embed/blend quotations into literary analysis, to use MLA style 9 in formal essays and papers.
1.Go to Nearpod.com. Enter class code
2. Type your first name and click join session.
3. Today's slideshow will appear on your screen. Follow along!
Part II: MLA Citation Style-title page
1. Rules
Rules for MLA formatting rules for writing papers/essays.
2. Sample papers
Take a look at the sample papers: OWL Sample MLA Paper and To Kill a Mockingbird Sample Paper
3. Review Mrs. Hulse’s sample paper
What's wrong with Mrs. Hulse's sample paper?
4. Today's class: Respond using Nearpod to the following question: “What’s one thing you learned from today’s class?
5. Create a template following the MLA citation guidelines.
Online Resources
Search our library catalogs from Destiny Quest to find all our printed books, magazines and journals, textbooks, encyclopedias, music CDs, movies (DVD and VHS).
A number of books have been reserved on the topic and placed on a cart. See additional resource list.
School Product Database Sites:
Practice searching and find a relevant article that addresses your topic.
Additional Open Web Resources:
Introduction to Research Resources
Information literacy topics:
Taking notes
Organizing source citations
In-text citations
References
Using technology tools
Answer the question, “What is a citation?”
A citation is all the information you need to tell where an idea or quotation came from, and to be able to find that source again.
Answer the question, “What kind of information is included in a citation?”
Citations can include the following information, and more...
author
title
place of publication
publisher (and more about where it can be found)
date of publication
medium (type of publication)
date you found it (electronic resources)
web address (URL) IF your teacher requires it.
Note: the medium (type) of publication may be: Print, Web, File, Film, CD-ROM, DVD, etc. and more, depending on the kind of information.
Analyze this sample citation to see which elements it includes. “What kind of source is it?”
"Book censorship." Photos/Illustrations. iStockPhoto.com. Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society. ABC-CLIO, 2015. Web. 6 May 2015.
Practice writing a citation manually from a book.
Practice creating a citation for a database.
Go to this article from a database. (If the link doesn’t work, use this citation:)
"Book censorship." Photos/Illustrations. iStockPhoto.com. Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society. ABC-CLIO, 2015. Web. 6 May 2015.
Practice creating a citation for a periodical/magazine. Go to the magazine article, and create a citation.
How do you cite the article in the body of your paper?
You will need to follow the instructions and examples from a reliable source, like the writing experts at Purdue University’s OWLS MLA style pages.
Open Google Chrome
Google Search: “Amity Library”, go to library page
New tab: Sign onto Google Drive
New Tab: Sign onto NEARPOD.COM