If you are researching a person, try the following databases:
Other historical databases to check out:
As always, check out all of the databases on the Amity Library Page.
Additionally, we have BOOKS in our library on many of your topics. Check out the library catalog. If there is a book we do not have on your topic, but would like to get, see Mrs. Hulse.
Introduction to Research Resources
Information literacy topics:
Using databases
Searching strategies for information
Using technology tools
Objectives: Understand what a research database is and some of the ways that it differs from a Web search engine, construct and refine searches using database features, and identify citation information
1. Direct student to activity guide online at:
Google "Amity library." Click on first result.
Find Online Stuff→By Subject Guide→History/Social Studies→Class Projects E-Z→Norris→Introduction to Research Resources
2. Initiation: students will conduct a scavenger hunt as a way to expose them to the databases Amity offers, focusing on the databases that will be utilized in World History class. (10 mins.)
3. Discussion: What is a database? How does it differ from a web search? Why should you use them?
a. Watch video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9LGWhtz_gao
b. Top Reasons to Use Databases--designed by AASL.
4. Types of online databases discussed today
School product databases
Include articles from many different kinds of publications, including proprietary materials.
May include e-books, encyclopedias, etc.
Include lots of easy access tools, may have overviews on topics (a little like a textbook)
Usually divided in subject areas
Offer multiple ways to browse or search
Examples:
Show students how to limit searches: images, video, primary sources, etc.
Demonstrate where they would get citation information
Scholarly databases
Most often used at college level.
May include e-books, encyclopedias, periodicals (journals, magazines, etc.).
Offer multiple ways to browse or search, but are less concerned with being attractive than school product databases.
Information is usually NOT organized in topics; you have to search.
Example: JSTOR
Show students how to limit searches: images, video, primary sources, etc.
Demonstrate where they would get citation information
5. Sign up for your account in NoodleTools.
5. Activate your own, personal account using our Amity subscription.
5.a. Go to this custom Amity High School Noodle Tools sign-up.
5.b. Click “REGISTER” at the bottom to sign up for a new account.
5.c. Only if you are outside the school. If you are in school, skip to next step.
Leave the default choice of “An account linked to a school/library subscription”.
Fill in the School/Library Password (ahs) and click “Continue”.
5.d. Leave the default choice of “An account linked to a school/library subscription”.
Fill in the New User Registration information, and click “REGISTER”. (Your Personal ID, which is your user name, can be a name or an email address.)
5.e. Go to “My Account” in the upper right and “My Profile” in the dropdown menu.
5.f. Fill in all the information. If you put in your amityschools.org Google address in “Google Account ID”, you will be able to link to Google Docs.
Click “Save Profile”.
6. Create a project to begin citations.
6.a. Click on “New Project”.
6.b. Enter a “Project Title”.
6.c. Choose “Chicago/Turabian” style (for this History class), and click the “Advanced” citation level for full functionality. Click “Submit”.
6.d. Write a “Research Question” (think of something related to your topic).
6.e. Write a “Thesis” statement. This is the statement or question you will prove or discuss.
6.f. Click the “Projects” tab to view your project list.
6.g. Click on the name of your project to open it.
6.h. Click on the “Sources” tab. You are now ready to cite a source.
College Research (English)
Finding and Evaluating Open Web Sources (Updated 2017-18, V. Hulse)
Information literacy topics:
Determining best sources
Searching strategies for information
Evaluating sources
Using technology tools
Objective: To learn to find relevant and reliable open web research sources, to evaluate these sources for reliability, and to use appropriate technology tools.
1.Go to activity guide online at:
Amity website→High School→AHS Library Information Center
Find Online Stuff→By Subject→English→Class Projects →Wentworth College Research→Finding and Evaluating Open Web Sources
2. Presentation/demonstration/discussion
Review google slideshow with students
Discuss elements of web pages
Students practice cooperatively with a web page of their finding
Teacher will assess student progress: https://goo.gl/RfMZfe
3. If time permits--Citations: Easybib and Noodletools--will demonstrate the programs as the students will not have computer
Easybib--How many of you have used it?
Easybib--only does MLA for free
Demonstrate use of Easybib (manual cite feature)
all it does is citations
Noodletools--How many of you have used it?
paid subscription by district
being used by many teachers and classes--simple to use and will save your work
Will complete citations, notes, outlines, etc.
