Biology I (updated 1-2022)
Introduction to Online Sources and Using Noodletools to Create Citations
Information literacy topics:
-Determining best sources
-Searching strategies for information
-Evaluating sources
-Creating citations
-Using technology tools
1. Objective: To demonstrate different sources students can use for research, and to develop and practice searching strategies, such as the use of limiters, for relevant information, to understand and define the concept of a research “citation”, to use a web citation generator (NoodleTools) to create citations and bibliographic references using MLA Style
Learning Expectations: Academic-Problem-solving: “Students will use appropriate tools strategically to solve problems.”
2. Discussion:
What is a database?
Why are they “good” to use for research?
Discussion:
What are the different types of online databases sources to find information?
A. School Product Database Sites (paid subscription $$$):
-Includes articles from many different kinds of periodicals, including proprietary materials.
Example:
Science in Context (available through Amity)
B. Specialized Databases (paid subscription $$$):
-Includes articles from many different periodicals in specific subjects.
Examples:
Science Reference Center (science, and related fields, not through Amity)
3. School Product Database Site: Science in Context, mix of periodicals
Main points:
-Look at the Lesson Plan to review what we discussed.
4. Recommended website for project: Animal Info and Endangered Species, or World Wildlife Fund.
5. Creating Citations using Noodletools
(See Google Slideshow)
Objective: To understand and define the concept of a research “citation”, to use a web citation generator to create citations and a work-cited list.
Discussion: What is a citation?
6. Discussion: Why are we required to create citations?
Possible responses: To give credit to where you got your information, to show you’ve used credible sources, to be a responsible scholar, to avoid plagiarism, to allow your reader to verify sources if there are questions.
7. Discussion: Why do we use Noodletools?
8. Discussion: What kind of information is included in a citation?
9. Discussion: What information can you find here?
Jacobson, Molly. "Backyard Pollinators: Going Native and Providing a Haven." New York State Conservationist, vol. 75, no. 1, Aug. 2020. Gale in Context: Science, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A641903627/SCIC?u=amityhs&sid=bookmark-SCIC&xid=43fe126f. Accessed 27 Oct. 2021.
10. Sign-in to Noodletools and update your profile to reflect you are a student at Amity High School.
11. Create a new project titled “Endangered Species” and click the + under Teacher Inbox and type “Endangered Species Period ___” (with their period #).
12. Practice: Search Science in Context and find the reference article on a black rhino and create a manual citation for the article.
Additional Tips:
-You are MORE likely to find something useful for school FASTER from a paid database than from a web search.
-Everything that ISN’T useful has NOT been included.
-Everything you find in a full-text search is really available, as opposed to just being a summary (abstract).
-You can avoid “pseudo-authoritative” sources written by people who confuse opinion with science, and beliefs with objective facts.
