Skip to main content

AHS Subject Guides: Art: Online Resources

Courses include: Design, Advertising, Graphic Art, Drawing, Painting, Art History, Ceramics, etc.

Fine Art Online Resources

Online Resources:

A full list of online reference materials can be found through our Amity Library web page, under "Find Online Stuff" (by Database Name).

 

Some resources of interest include:

ABC-CLIO allows entry to the main portal page for all six ABC-CLIO databases, covering areas like modern history and war, and current issues.

Academic Search Complete covers a wide range of academic disciplines, from the behavioral and technical sciences, through education, theatre, and many more. It includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals. This is the FULL version of Academic Search, and includes about 9,000 full-text journals, about double the number available in the Premier version.

 

Newspapers/Magazines: Following our links under “Magazines”, “Popular Magazines”, and the different newspaper headings, to see publications ranging from the New York Times to People Magazine, provided by Amity, local town libraries, or the CT State Library. (Our local libraries even have some digital magazines in Spanish!)

 

ResearchIt CT , all Resources A to Z: the various databases provided by the CT State Library offer a range of full-text articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, journals) on a number of topics, including language and culture.

 

Additionally, these Fine Art web resources offer examples of the work of many artists, like Gaugin, Rembrandt, Picasso, DaVinci, and many more.

If you're an art teacher, this website will be your new go-to resource! Explore collections from around the world with Google Arts & Culture, created by Google Cultural Institute.This website features interior tours of seventeen world famous art museums. Simply select a museum from the list on the homepage and you can virtually tour it using the same interface used in Google Maps. The website also offers an option to create your own art gallery while visiting each museum. You can see works of art in greater detail, add to your collection, and open background information about each piece with just a few clicks of the mouse.

       

Art Resource is the world's largest fine art stock photo archive, with more than 1,000,000 searchable fine art images from the world's leading sources, available for licensing to all media.  Included here are high quality images of works of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts from most of the world's major museums, monuments, and commercial archives.

The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings.While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.   

       

 

Amity High School, Amity Region 5 School District, Woodbridge, CT 06525, 203-397-4844 Librarians: Robert F. Musco and Victoria Hulse Copyright 2017