Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AHS Subject Guides: Reading: 1. Introduction to Online Sources

This guide includes information literacy lessons created to support our Reading program.

1. Introduction to Online Sources

Reading: Literacy Workshop

Introduction to Online Sources (updated 2-2020)

  • Information literacy topics covered
  • Determining the best sources
  • Searching strategies for information
  • Evaluating sources
  • Using technology tools

1. Explain objective: To distinguish between different formats of research materials available online and determine the level of authority of the information, and to develop and practice searching strategies for relevant information.

 

2. Discussion:

Research Project about a social issue. Students will write a short paper arguing a point of view about a social issue.

  • What is a social issue?
  • Social Issues:
  • ?
  • ?
  • ?

How do you start to find information for your research?

  • ?
  • ?
  • ?

What kind of information will you find online?

  • ?
  • ?
  • ?

3. Discuss:

What is a periodical?

Can you name 4 different types of periodicals?

Types of periodicals: Learn about the criteria that defines each type

  • ?
  • ?
  • ?

4. Discuss: :

Where will you look for online information?

Let’s start with some online databases. (See lesson plan for notes):

 

5. School Product Database Sites (paid subscription $$$):

Examples:

ProQuest: SIRS

 

5.a. Discussion: School Product Database:

Picture SIRS

Main points: (See lesson plan for notes)

 

6. Multi-disciplinary Academic Database: (paid subscription $$$):  

Example:

ESBCO:  ResearchIT CT OneSearch

 

 

6.a. Discussion:  Multi-disciplinary Academic Database:

EBSCO’s ResearchIT CT OneSearch

Main points: (See lesson plan for notes)
 

 

7. Search SIRS to start browsing topics.

- Search SIRSView all Issues” to look at topics that might interest you.

- Complete the form “Step 1 - Pick a Topic”.

- Choose 2 topics of interest.

- Answer questions about your interests, the purpose of the project, and the intended audience.

Additional Tips:

Get a library card so you can use iConn at home.

Practice searching our databases:

SIRS

Research IT CT/Resources for High Schools/ (all the databases for journals)

You are MORE likely to find something useful for school FASTER from a paid database than from a web search.

Everything that ISN’T useful has NOT been included.

Everything you find in a full-text search is really available, as opposed to just being a summary (abstract).

You can avoid “pseudo-authoritative” sources written by people who confuse opinion with science, and beliefs with objective facts.

Amity High School, Amity Region 5 School District, Woodbridge, CT 06525, 203-397-4844 Librarians: Robert F. Musco and Victoria Hulse Copyright 2017