Andrea Regan
Spanish I-3
Database Searching and the Power of Limiters: the Amazon (updated 11-2018)
Information literacy topics:
-Determining best sources
-Searching strategies for information
-Evaluating sources
-Using technology tools
1: Find the activities for this class, at:
Amity website→High School→AHS Library Information Center
Find Online Stuff→By Subject→World Language→Class Projects→Regan→Database Searching and the Power of Limiters
2. Objective: What do we want to accomplish today?
To perform an efficient search for peer-reviewed academic journal articles, and/or magazine and newspaper articles on a given topic, using limiters in a college-level database (EBSCO’s GreenFile)
3. Discussion: Choosing the best resource:
GreenFile: Fom the publisher EBSCO, GreenFile provides full text for more than 13,000 articles. Its subjects include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling,
GreenFile
Environmental Topics, All Formats
Databases on other topics:
Academic Search Complete
All Topics, All Formats, 9000 Academic Journals
……………………………………..
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
Education Topics, All Formats
……………………………………..
4. Discussion: Searching strategies (Search Terms)
ESBCO: GREENFILE:
-Take note of your surroundings: Look at main menus, search options, etc..
-Search box:
-Always give yourself more options with an “Advanced Search”.
Consider what you are searching for: Title? Author? Subject? Word in text?
-Start simple. You can always add more words to narrow down.
-Notice what appears when you start to type “Argentina”. How many results do you get? How does it change when you add “environment”. How about “environ*”?
-Too many results and not really relevant? (e.g. “Argentina”) Add more words to narrow down.
-Too few results? “Argentina environmental problems patagonia” Broaden your search with fewer words (Argentina environment).
-Use more advanced techniques:
-Try with synonyms or related words (environ*, pollution, contamination, toxic, drought, etc.)
-Use commands (“operators”) to narrow down: AND (to get both terms), OR (for one OR the other), NOT (to filter out the word), apostrophes around several words like “turtle excluder” or “turtle excluder device” to get the exact phrase
-Always limit to full-text, if it is what you need.
-Focus on results, and LEFT sidebar
-Notice the number of hits for each Source Type.
5. Discussion: Searching strategy: Limiters
-Use LIMITERS
-Notice the number of hits for each Source Type.
-Use checkbox “limiters” on the LEFT sidebar to LIMIT your search by:
-Full-text.
-Publication Date
-Source Type (only Academic Journals? Magazines? Newspapers?)
-Etc.
-When you identify a good source/article:
-Choose a relevant article, and notice the related SUBJECTS.
-Follow up on subject leads that appear in relevant articles. Remember, hey were chosen by humans: (how about “Agriculture & the environment; or “Argentina”?).
-Save your chosen results to avoid losing stuff (use personal lists, email, notes/citation tools, etc.). Add a user name and password to save searches and results.
La Prensa Internacional
Gracias a la interconectividad de las redes digitales, hoy en día tenemos disponibles en la Web una riqueza de recursos que ofrecen enlaces con la prensa de todos los países del mundo.
En general estas webs no ofrecen el cien por cien del contenido que tiene la versión pagada del mismo periódico o revista, pero dan la posibilidad de ver las portadas, y leer muchos de los artículos que contienen.
Adelante!
México
Venezuela
Perú
Bolivia
Chile
España
Colombia
Andrea Regan
Spanish V-2
Research Resources for Spanish Civil War
Information literacy topics:
Determining best sources
Searching strategies for information
Using technology tools
Objective: To learn to access appropriate print and online research sources, to practice effective searching strategies.
1. These instructions are located at:
Amity website→High School→AHS Library Information Center
Find Online Stuff→By Subject→World Language→Class Projects→Regan
2. Discussion: quick tour of sources for today’s practice (notes are included at end of instructions for reference):
Types of online databases discussed today
School product databases, example: ABC Clio: The World at War
These databases include articles from many different kinds of periodicals.
May include e-books, encyclopedias, etc.
Includes lots of easy access tools, overviews on topics (a little like a textbook), usually divided in subject areas
May be organized many different ways, but you have to be sure it is reliable. This site is reliable because it is a commercial educational product sold to schools from reputable publishers
3. Presentation of School Product Database Site:
ABC Clio World History: The Modern Era
ABC Clio : The World at War (notes at end of document)
Main menu:
Topics is an index, or table of contents. Broad overview. Choose a topic.
Left sidebar:
Read Overview, follow links in text to clarify unfamiliar ideas
Look at relevant General Resources
Look at pictures/videos, maps, in Media.
Look for relevant Documents (primary source documents (original documents from the war era))
Perspectives provide presentations of real research questions, like, “How did international geopolitics evolve during World War II?”. They are called Key Questions.
Key Question: the research question answered in the presentation
Need to Know: all the information available to answer the research question
Also look at Facts and Figures, Glossary Terms, and Maps
Library allows you to search by key words, limiting your results to different topics. Don’t just choose Spanish Civil War. You can also choose related topics that overlap or lead up to your event, such as “fascism, elated to things like technology, transportation, or nationalism
4. Presentation of open web source:
History Reference Center: Tips:
You need your local library card to log in from outside school. Try keyword searching, or try using the subject heading: SPAIN -- History -- Civil War, 1936-1939. If you limit your search results to “reference” on the left hand-side you will only see encyclopedic sources.
Images: Imperial War Museum online collection. Digital collection has mostly photographs of the period. Search by related terms, like “Spanish Civil War”, “Mussolini”, “Franco”, “Guernica”, etc.
Additional Tips:
Get a library card so you can use iConn at home.
Practice searching from our web page:
SIRS
iConn/Resources for High Schools/ (all the databases for journals)
You are MORE likely to find something useful for school FASTER from a paid database than from a web search.
Everything that ISN’T useful has NOT been included.
Everything you find in a full-text search is really available, as opposed to just being a summary (abstract).
You can avoid “pseudo-authoritative” sources written by people who confuse opinion with science, and beliefs with objective facts.
Additional Resources
Spanish Civil War Web Sources:
History Reference Center: you need your local library card to log in from outside school. Try keyword searching, or try using the subject heading: SPAIN -- History -- Civil War, 1936-1939. If you limit your search results to “reference” on the left hand-side you will only see encyclopedic sources.
Images: Imperial War Museum online collection
Digital collection has mostly photographs of the period. Search by related terms, like “Spanish Civil War”, “Mussolini”, “Franco”, “Guernica”, etc.
Posters: Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives, Spanish Civil War Posters
“The Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives (ALBA) is an educational non-profit dedicated to promoting social activism and the defense of human rights. ALBA’s work is inspired by the brave American volunteers of the Abraham Lincoln Brigade who fought and died fighting fascism in the Spanish Civil War (1936-39).”
Posters: Biblioteca Digital Hispánica, Biblioteca nacional de España, Spanish Civil War Poster Collection
The posters are labeled in the original language, whether it be Castellano or Catalán, and they depict a range of propaganda created by both sides during the civil war.
General History Websites:
General overview Encyclopaedia Britannica website
John Simkin’s (BA, MA, MPhil) Spartacus International educational website (Author and History teacher)
Chris Trueman’s [BA (Hons), MA] History Learning Site website (History teacher in UK)
Department of English, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Modern American Poetry website
International world history project History-World.Org website (non-profit)
Notes:
This project covers the following Spanish Civil War Topics:
The nationalists and their groups
The republicans and their groups
The International Brigades and The Lincoln Brigade
Francisco Franco
Pablo Picasso and Guernica
Mussolini and the Italians
Hitler and the Germans
Women and the civil war
The Spanish Civil War and its influence on the Second World War
Propaganda and music of the two sides
The consequences (e.g., population, economy, emigration, political state).
