Skip to main content

AHS Subject Guides: Social Science: Clifford

Social Sciences: Courses include: Psychology, Sociology, Anthropology, Family Studies, Health, Physical Education, etc.

Clifford: Introduction to Citations with NoodleTools

World History (updated 9-2018, R. Musco)

Introduction to Citations, References, and Note-taking with NoodleTools

Information literacy topics:

-Taking notes

-Organizing source citations

-References

-Using technology tools

 

Objective: To understand and define the concept of a research “citation”, and to use a web citation generator, NoodleTools, to create citations and bibliographic references, and organize notes.

 

1: Find the activities for this class, at:

Amity website→High SchoolAHS Library Information Center

(tab) Find Online Stuff→By Subject→History

(tab) Class Projects →Cumpstone→ Introduction to Citations, References, and Note-taking with NoodleTools

 

Part A: Understanding and Creating Citations

2. Discuss objective.

 

3. Answer the question, “What kind of information is included in a citation?”

 

4. Answer the question, “What kind of source is this?” (see below). What parts of the citation can you identify?

 

Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." In World History: The Modern Era, ABC-CLIO. Accessed September 19, 2017. http://worldhistory.abc-clio.com

 

5. Sign up for your account in NoodleTools.

Activate your own personal account through your @amityschools.org Google account.

Go to the NoodleTools log-in screen.

Enter your @amityschools.org Google account email.

Click “Sign In with Google”.

 

Re-enter your Amity Google account email, and your Google password.

 

For 7th/8th/9th Grades: (other grades, look here).

Click on “Create a new account”.

Click “Submit”.

 

 

Next:

Choose “I am a student”.

Click “Submit”.

Choose your graduation year.

Click “Save Profile”.

 

Under “My Profile” make sure your  first and last names are complete.

 

 

You are now in Noodle Tools!  

Your new username is your Google @amityschools.org email address and password.

 

6. Create a project to begin citations.

6.a. Click on “New Project”.

 

6.b. Enter a “Project Title”.

6.c. Choose “Chicago/Turabian” style (for this History class), and click the “Advanced” citation level for full functionality. Click “Submit”.

 

6.d. Write a “Research Question” (think of something related to your topic).

6.e. Write a “Thesis” statement. This is the statement or question you will prove or discuss.

6.f. Click the “Projects” tab to view your project list.

 

6.g. Click on the name of your project to open it.

 

6.h. Click on the “Sources” tab. You are now ready to cite a source.

7. Create a COPY AND PASTE citation for a database article.

7.a. Go to this article from the ABC-Clio database World at War, titled “Breakthroughs in Science.”

7.b. Click on “CITE” in the top of the page.

7.c. COPY the citation (use Chigago format).

7.d. Return to NoodleTools, and click on “Create a New Citation”.

7.e. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Note that the choice here refers to WHERE the source was found, not what KIND of source it is. Choose “Database”.

7.f. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”.Choose “Original Content in Database” (because the citation shows this article was written for this database).

 

7.g. Click “Quick Cite”: Copy & Paste Citation”.  Paste in the citation you copied.

7.h. Click “Submit”. Look at your citation.

Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." In World History: The Modern Era, ABC-CLIO, 2018. Accessed September 23, 2018. https://worldhistory.abc-clio.com/Topics/Display/25.

 

8. Create a MANUAL citation for a database article.

8.a. Go to the same article from the ABC-Clio database World History: The Modern Era.

8.b. From the Sources tab, click on “Create a New Citation”.

8.c. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Once again choose “Database”.

8.d. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”. Once again choose “Original Content in Database” (because the citation shows it was written for this database).

 

 

8.e. Start filling in as much information as you can, copying from the article, and adjusting the text as needed. Notice the pop-up hints.

8.f. Click “Submit”.

Helpful pointers:

-Did you fill in the date you got the article?

-Did you use the HOME page URL since the article URL was so long and complicated?

-There seems to be no published date.

-You can assume that the ID number is the same as a database accession number.

 

Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." World History: The Modern Era.  http://worldhistory.abc-clio.com.

 

8.g. Now compare your two citations.

Copy/paste

Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." In World History: The Modern Era, ABC-CLIO, 2018. Accessed September 23, 2018. https://worldhistory.abc-clio.com/Topics/Display/25.

 

Manual with NoodleTools

Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." World History: The Modern Era.  http://worldhistory.abc-clio.com.

 

In this case, neither citation (original article from a reference database) is completely accurate. The corrected form would be:

 

Haerens, Margaret. "Breakthroughs in Science." In World History: The Modern Era, ABC-CLIO. Accessed September 19, 2017. http://worldhistory.abc-clio.com

 

9. Student practice: Create an MANUAL citation for a database article.

Create a MANUAL citation for a database article.

9.a. Go to this article titled: “British Textiles Clothe the World”, from the EBSCO publishing company’s database History Resource Center.

9.b. Back in NoodleTools, from the Sources tab, click on “Create a New Citation”.

9.c. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Once again choose “Database”.

9.d. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”. Choose “Magazine” because this is an article in a magazine called “History Today”.

9.e. Start filling in as much information as you can, copying from the article:

-DOI (Direct Object Identifier): there is none listed

-URL: find the "permalink" on the right, because it does not change.

-Name of database: find it

-Database accession number: find it

-Most recent date of access: (today's date)

-Author: find it

-Article title: find it

-Pages: find it

-Name of journal: find it

-Volume: find it

-Issue: find it

-Publication date: find it

-Series: there is none listed

9.f. Click “Submit”.

 

Hopley, Claire. "British Textiles Clothe the World." British Heritage, September 2006, 28-33. https://search.ebscohost.com.

 

9.10. Now compare your finished citation to the copy-paste citation provided by EBSCO. Look at the differences (possibly due to different chicago versions, and errors in NoodleTools).

 

Manual:

Hopley, Claire. "British Textiles Clothe the World." British Heritage, September 2006, 28-33. https://search.ebscohost.com. 

 

Copy/Paste provided by History Resource Center

Hopley, Claire. "British Textiles Clothe the World." British Heritage 27, no. 4 (September 2006): 28-33. History Reference Center, EBSCOhost (accessed September 19, 2017).

 

In this case, the manual citation is the more correct citation, though the URL might be problematic because you can’t see anything without logging in.

 

10. Create a MANUAL citation from a web source.

10.a. Go to this article entitled “Women and the Revolution”, from the website:

Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution, a joint project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (George Mason University) and American Social History Project (City University of New York)

10.b. Back in NoodleTools, from the Sources tab, click on “Create a New Citation”.

10.c. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Once again choose “Website”.

10.d. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”. Choose “Web page” because this online article is really a page in the larger museum web site.

10.e. Start filling in as much information as you can, copying from the article:

-URL: find it

-Date of publication: find it; if none, leave it blank.

-Most recent date of access: use it

-Contributors: find the author

-Web Page or document/article title: Find the article title

-Name of the website: find it (not the same as the publisher)

-Publisher of the site: Find it (bottom of page)

-Editors of the site as a whole: hard to find. We'll talk about this.

10.f. Click “Submit”.

 

Hunt, Lynn, and Jack Censer, eds. "Women and the Revolution." Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution. Accessed October 6, 2016. http://chnm.gmu.edu/revolution/chap5a.html#.

 

Citing your sources within your paper

-How do you cite the article in the body of your paper?

-Chicago includes two basic documentation systems: notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and author-date style (sometimes called reference list style). We are using the notes-bibliography style.

The basics of the note-bibliography style are as follows: Whenever you need to cite a source, a superscript number is placed in the text at the end of the sentence or part of the sentence. A normal-sized number corresponding to that reference is placed at the end of the page or the end of the section (your teacher’s choice). The first time a source is used at the bottom of the page, the entire citation form is used.  The second time it is used at the bottom it is shortened (see rules). When the same source is used twice or more in a row, you write “ibid” (which means “the same”), and change page number if needed. The bibliography at the end includes all sources with their complete citation forms, in alphabetic order.

-You will need to follow the instructions and examples from a reliable source, like the writing experts at Purdue University’s CHICAGO style pages.

-Look at the sample Chicago “Footnotes and Bibliography” paper on our History guide.

Clifford: International Studies Project

Jim Clifford

International Studies

 

Objective: To find and analyze information on two health-related topics:

  • Non-Western medicine and healing vs. Western

    • public health

    • proposal for student health intiative

  • Idea for the development of a new technology to improve health

  •  

Online resources available:

Start from our library web-page at www.amityregion5.org. Go to...

Find Online Stuffby subjectSocial SciencesClassesCliffordInternational Studies (this page)

OR

Find Online Stuffby Name/Database

 

Free Websites for Health

                                   

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

  • Try looking through the topics, like “Mental Health”

  • From there, browse subtopics, like “Memory”. At the end of each reading are LOTS of links to other websites with information, most of which seem reliable.

Web site: National Institute of Mental Health is a part of the U.S. government’s NIH (National Institutes of Health).

  • The best place to start is by  browsing the topics. There are very clear explanations of conditions like “panic disorder” or “postpartum depression”.

  • There are great educational resources (click Health and Education/Educational Resources).  

Other Multi-subject Databases

(from outside a high school or public library, you need a public library card number)

Student Research Center has articles on a wide range of topics, from science and health, to history and art, from magazines, newspapers, journals, and books and encyclopedias. You can choose to filter your results by different reading levels (elementary, middle, and high-school/college).

iCONN allows you to read full-text articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, journals). You will need the number from your local library card to log in if you are not visiting this site from inside the school. Many of the databases below are stored on iConn. FROM OFF CAMPUS YOU NEED YOUR PUBLIC LIBRARY CARD CODE

Academic Search Premier covers a wide range of academic disciplines, from the behavioral and technical sciences, through education, theatre, and many more. It includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals. A good general resource. YOU NEED YOUR PUBLIC LIBRARY CARD CODE

.

Mainfile is a multi-disciplinary database that covers all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. It has information from scholarly journals and full-text magazines, as well as full-text newspapers, newswires, reference books, and encyclopedias.FROM OFF CAMPUS YOU NEED YOUR PUBLIC LIBRARY CARD CODE

MAS Ultra School Edition contains hundreds of popular high school magazines in many subject areas including history, science, careers and much more. Some titles are America's Civil War, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Congressional Digest, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II.. MAS Ultra also has biographies and primary source documents, and an Image Collection containing photos.FROM OFF CAMPUS YOU NEED YOUR PUBLIC LIBRARY CARD CODE

    

MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents in business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more, as well as an Image Collection containing photos, maps, and flags. FROM OFF CAMPUS YOU NEED YOUR PUBLIC LIBRARY CARD CODE

Newspaper Source Plus provides more than 1,400 full-text newspapers. Videos and podcasts are coming soon. FROM OFF CAMPUS YOU NEED YOUR PUBLIC LIBRARY CARD CODE

Newspapers from iConn, a ProQuest database, gives you access to more newspapers, some of which include their historical archive of back copies.. FROM OFF CAMPUS YOU NEED YOUR PUBLIC LIBRARY CARD CODE

 

Clifford: Psychology, the Brain, Introduction to Research Resources

Jim Clifford

Psychology (Grade X)

Introduction to Research Resources

Information literacy topics:

  • Determining best sources

  • Searching strategies for information

  • Evaluating sources

  • Using technology tools

 

Objective: To understand the characteristics of available reliable print and online sources for research, concentrating on encyclopedic/reference works and popular, “non-scholarly” periodicals, and websites, and to practice searching these sources.

 

  1. Go to session instructions at:

Amity web pageSchoolsHigh SchoolLibrary Information Center

Find Online Stuffby subjectSocial SciencesClass ProjectsClifford.

 

 

  1. Complete a brief assessment about finding research sources. Go to Socrative Student and join room 2b148115

  2. Presentation and discussion: searching online catalog for books. (sample psychology research topic: Can Videogaming Behavior be Addictive?). Look at hints below.
  • Try straight keywords.  Found something?  Browse subject to find more.
  • Can’t find more? Go to QUEST to shelf browse to the left and right.
  • Can’t find more? Try broader category search with keyword.
  • How about all the psychology as a subject?
  • Too many hits?  Use choices to limit search to BOOKS, and since F is Fiction, limit search to non-fiction (000-999). You could also limit to R (reference books) R 000-R 999.
  1. Practice: search online catalog independently (library web pageFind Physical StuffLibrary Catalog)

Fill out this Google SURVEY to describe a result that might have useful information.

 

  1. Discussion:

-What are the advantages of using sources like books and periodicals, school-database products like SIRS, subscription databases (Academic Search), reliable websites. etc.,  instead of untested web sources?

 

  1. Discussion:

 

-What are the major difference between scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals?

 

Practice:

Match Scholarly and Non-Scholarly Periodicals with the criteria describing each on Quizlet.

On Quizlet, search for amitylibrary, then choose the Scholarly vs. Non-scholarly practice set, and play the SCATTER game. Drag the definitions onto Scholarly or Non-scholarly.

 

  1. Discussion:

- High-school database product (Library web pageFind Online Stuffby nameSIRS)  and other database sources that offer material that can be understood by a non-expert.

-Practice searching, using few search strategies.

-What did you notice?

 

  1. Discussion:

-Open web source, National Institute of Mental Health  and WebMD that offer material that can be understood by a non-expert.

-If time: Practice searching, using few search strategies.

-What did you notice?

 

 

 

  1. Complete post-session assessment, using Socrative Student join room 2b148115

 


View survey response here

 

View lesson plan here with additional resources.

Amity High School, Amity Region 5 School District, Woodbridge, CT 06525, 203-397-4844 Librarians: Robert F. Musco and Victoria Hulse Copyright 2017