Skip to main content

AHS Subject Guides: Social Science: Online Resources

Social Sciences: Courses include: Psychology, Sociology, Anthropology, Family Studies, Health, Physical Education, etc.

Social Science Online Resources

Online Resources:

A full list of online reference materials can be found through our Amity Library web page, under "Find Online Stuff" (by Database Name).

 

Some resources of interest include:

 

ABC-CLIO allows entry to the main portal page for all six ABC-CLIO databases, covering areas like modern history and war, and current issues.

 

ABC-Clio World History: The Modern Era offers a comprehensive electronic library of historical reference materials and interactive curricular units.

 

ABC-Clio World at War presents comprehensive information and unique insights into the military conflicts that have defined our world from antiquity to today.

 

ABC-Clio American History investigates the people, events, and themes of our nation’s evolution from the explorers of the Americas to today’s headlines.

 

ABC-Clio American Government explains the foundations of our government, connects these concepts to the issues of the day, and examines the strengths and weaknesses of the political and economic systems of the United States by comparing them to those of other countries.

 

ABC-Clio Issues explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

 

ABC-Clio Pop Culture Universe presents authoritative digital database on popular culture in America, both past and present.

 

Academic Search Complete covers a wide range of academic disciplines, from the behavioral and technical sciences, through education, theatre, and many more. It includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals. This is the FULL version of Academic Search, and includes about 9,000 full-text journals, about double the number available in the Premier version.

 

Biography Reference Center allows you to search for important figures throughout history, using useful categories like “Activists and Reformers”, or “First Ladies”, or by “Nationalities”. You can also browse alphabetically.  This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

Discovery Education contains digital content, interactive lessons, real time assessment, virtual experiences.  Use your regular school sign-in. Teachers: If your regular username does not work, try firstname.lastname.

 

ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center is a clearinghouse for all things education.  Not just for teachers; many students use it for projects related to education This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

GreenFILE is a multidisciplinary source of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that makes connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines, such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.  This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

 

Mainfile is a multi-disciplinary database that covers all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. It has information from scholarly journals and full-text magazines, as well as full-text newspapers, newswires, reference books, and encyclopedias. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

MAS Ultra School Edition contains hundreds of popular high school magazines in many subject areas including history, science, careers and much more. Some titles are Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Congressional Digest, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II. MAS Ultra also has biographies and primary source documents, and an Image Collection containing photos.  This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents in business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more, as well as an Image Collection containing photos, maps, and flags.  This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

MedlinePlus´╗┐ is the National Institutes of Health's web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

 

National Institute of Mental Health is a part of the U.S. government’s NIH (National Institutes of Health).

 

Newspapers/Magazines: Following our links under “Magazines”, “Popular Magazines”, and the different newspaper headings, to see publications ranging from the New York Times to People Magazine, provided by Amity, local town libraries, or the CT State Library. (Our local libraries even have some digital magazines in Spanish!)

 

SIRS provides resources for many subject areas: arts and humanities, government, civics, economics, world events, 20th Century history.

 

 

 

Amity High School, Amity Region 5 School District, Woodbridge, CT 06525, 203-397-4844 Librarians: Robert F. Musco and Victoria Hulse Copyright 2017