Skip to main content

AHS Subject Guides: Science: Online Resources

This guide includes print and online resources for Science: Courses include: Biology, Earth Science, Environmental Science, Chemistry, Physics, Forensics, Human Anatomy, etc.

Science Online Resources: General

Online Resources:

A full list of online reference materials can be found through our Amity Library web page, under "Find Online Stuff" (by Database Name).

 

Some resources of interest include:

 

ABC Clio Issues explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

 

Academic Search COMPLETE: covers a wide range of academic disciplines, from the behavioral and technical sciences, through education, theatre, and many more. It includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals. This is the FULL version of Academic Search, and includes about 9,000 full-text journals, about double the number available in the Premier version.

 

The Biography Reference Center allows you to search for important figures throughout history, using useful categories like “Activists and Reformers”, or “First Ladies”, or by “Nationalities”. You can also browse alphabetically.  This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

H.W. Wilson's Biography Reference bank contains biographical full text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work". This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

Discovery Education has digital content, interactive lessons, real time assessment, virtual experiences. Students sign on with their Google @amityschools.org addresses and passwords. Teachers: If your regular username does not work, try firstname.lastname.

 

ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center is a clearinghouse for all things education.  Not just for teachers; many students use it for projects related to education This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

Greenfile is a multidisciplinary source of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that makes connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines, such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

Mainfile is a multi-disciplinary database that covers all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. It has information from scholarly journals and full-text magazines, as well as full-text newspapers, newswires, reference books, and encyclopedias. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

MAS Ultra School Edition contains hundreds of popular high school magazines in many subject areas including history, science, careers and much more. Some titles are Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Congressional Digest, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II. MAS Ultra also has biographies and primary source documents, and an Image Collection containing photos. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents in business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more, as well as an Image Collection containing photos, maps, and flags. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

 

National Institute of Mental Health is a part of the U.S. government’s NIH (National Institutes of Health).

 

Newspapers/Magazines: Following our links under “Magazines”, “Popular Magazines”, and the different newspaper headings, to see publications ranging from the New York Times to People Magazine, provided by Amity, local town libraries, or the CT State Library.

New York Times Replica Edition (username AND password: 200330264) The Times Replica gives you every page of The Times on your computer or iPad, exactly as it is in print. You can listen to articles read aloud, and even save PDFs of each page. Play around with the different viewing and search functions.

 

PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. You can filter your results for full-text only, or if you find a great article that you can’t see, then go to another database to see if they have that journal.

 

ResearchIT CT "One Search".  This tool links all EBSCO databases available through the State Library of Connecticut. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

Science in Context, by Gale-Cengage. This user-friendly resource provides millions of full-text articles from hundreds of national and global newspapers, magazines, and journals. Offers thousands of images, videos, and audio selections from authoritative sources, and reference content from Gale and other encyclopedias.

 

Science News: The magazine for the society for science and the public. This is one of the magazines available through ResearchIT CT's Popular Magazine database. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

Science Reference Center has articles on a wide range of topics in science.  You can browse through different subjects, or look at broad science areas. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

SIRS provides resources for many subject areas: arts and humanities, government, civics, economics, world events, 20th Century history.

.

Amity High School, Amity Region 5 School District, Woodbridge, CT 06525, 203-397-4844 Librarians: Robert F. Musco and Victoria Hulse Copyright 2017