Skip to main content

AHS Subject Guides: English: Online Resources

This guide includes print and online resources for English: Courses include: English Literature, Communication, Expository Writing, Creative Writing, Journalism, Humanities, Reading, etc.

English Online Resources

Online Resources:

A full list of online reference materials can be found through our Amity Library web page under "Find Online Stuff" (by Database Name).

 

Some resources of interest include:

Academic Search Complete covers a wide range of academic disciplines, from the behavioral and technical sciences, through education, theatre, and many more. It includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals. This is the FULL version of Academic Search, and includes about 9,000 full-text journals, about double the number available in the Premier version.

 

The History Reference Center features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and academic journals. This content includes historical documents, biographies of historical figures,  full-text reference books, encyclopedias, history books, historical photos and maps, and historical video.  This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

 

Newspapers/Magazines: Following our links under “Magazines”, “Popular Magazines”, and the different newspaper headings, to see publications ranging from the New York Times to People Magazine, provided by Amity, local town libraries, or the CT State Library.

 

ResearchIT CT "One Search"  links all EBSCO databases available through the State Library of Connecticut. This ResearchIT CT database is accessible from off-campus with your Amity login.

 

SIRS provides resources for many subject areas: arts and humanities, government, civics, economics, world events, 20th Century history.

Citation Styles: MLA

MLA

The Modern Language Association (MLA) has developed this guide, most often used for the liberal arts and Humanities.  

 

Citing MLA Style: Amity Librarians' Quick Guide

Resource developed by Amity librarians with the mostly commonly used sources and how to accurately cite them.  

Citing MLA Style - Purdue OWL

This practical and reliable guide is published by renowned Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL).

 

Look at the MLA Sample Paper.

 

Amity High School, Amity Region 5 School District, Woodbridge, CT 06525, 203-397-4844 Librarians: Robert F. Musco and Victoria Hulse Copyright 2017