AHS Subject Guides: English: Pascale

ELA Independent Reading

Find a Book in the Amity HS Library

Do you want to find a book in the Amity High School Library for a research project, or just to read for fun? Before you come in to browse our shelves, watch this video on how to search the library catalog, 

How to Find a Book in the Library Catalog: Introduction to Destiny

Next, get your book.

• Find a book in the catalog or come in to browse.
• Check it out with us.
• Return it on to the library on time, OR...
• Need more time? You MUST email Mr. Musco or Mrs. Hulse to avoid fines.

eBooks and audioBooks:

Currently digital books are available from two sources starting at the library database page:

• eBooks from EBSCO eBooks
• eBooks and AudioBooks from Public Libraries with SORA 

 

Get Book Recommendations

How to Find Book Recommendations Online: Book Recommendation Websites 

YALSA Booklists: compiled by the American Association of School Libraries.

School Library Journal: Check under the tabs for Awards and Books to search

RJ Julia Independent Book Sellers: Staff recommendations for teens

Common Sense Media Teen Booklists: There are several different broad categories.

GoodReads Teen Booklists: A great little summary, plus tons of reader reviews.

Barnes and Noble for Teens: Take a look at the “Teens” list to see what’s hot.

You can always just Google “lists of books for teens”.

E. Clark 

Career and College Writing (Mar. 2022, V. Hulse)

Introduction to Research Resources

• Information literacy topics:
• Using databases
• Searching strategies for information
• Using technology tools

Objective: To learn to access appropriate print and online research sources and to practice effective searching strategies.

 

Learning Expectations:

Academic-Writing: Students will produce and distribute a variety of writing designed to entertain, inform, or argue, as well build and present knowledge derived from research.

Academic-Problem-solving: Students will use appropriate tools strategically to solve problems.

 

1. Access activity guide online at:

Google Amity library, navigate to website→Find Online Stuff→By Subject→English→Class Projects→E.Clark→Introduction to Research Resources             

2. Sources requirements for research paper

--Discussion--What does it mean to use a variety and wide range of resources 

when writing a research paper?  

3. Using Amity’s library card catalog to obtain a print source.

--Go to Amity Library’s website, on left hand side of screen click where it says

“Library Catalog.”

--In search box type your keywords in.  Note--you may have to adjust your key terms.”  

--Verify that the book is indeed in the library.  See right side of screen.

 

 

--Books may be checked out. If you need assistance locating materials, please 

ask.  

4. Discussion: What is a database?  How does it differ from a web search?  Why should you use them?  

--Watch video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDlEpt0AdKc

--Show infographic: Reasons to use databases

Types of online databases discussed today

School product databases

• Include articles from many different kinds of publications, including proprietary materials.
• May include e-books, encyclopedias, etc. 
• Include lots of easy access tools, may have overviews on topics (a little like a textbook)
• Usually divided in subject areas
• Offer multiple ways to browse or search
• Examples:
• SIRS  

Scholarly databases

• Most often used at college level.
• May include e-books, encyclopedias, periodicals (journals, magazines, etc.).
• Offer multiple ways to browse or search, but are less concerned with being attractive than school product databases. 
• Information is usually NOT organized in topics; you have to search.
• Example:
• Academic Search Complete

5. Discussion: School Product Database: 

SIRS

6. Discussion:  Presentation of a Scholarly database:

Academic Search Complete  

7. Creating citations

• Sign into Noodletools--Go through google drive to do this.
• Click link to access article. Create citation in google form--link below.
  • https://forms.gle/1phg1XzHpZDQTg256

8. Questions?

Student Instructions

English I

Embedding/Blending Quotations and MLA Citations (updated 9-2019)

Information Literacy Topics:

• Creating/Writing a research-based product
• In-text citations
• Using technology tools

Objective: To understand how to effectively embed/blend quotations into writing, to cite evidence (direct quotes) using MLA citation style.

 

Learning Expectations: 

• Academic-Writing: “Students will produce and distribute a variety of writing designed to entertain, inform, or argue, as well build and present knowledge derived from research.“
• Civic: “Students will exhibit personal integrity and ethical decision-making.”

During class:

Objective: To understand how to effectively embed/blend quotations into literary analysis, to use MLA style 9 in formal essays and papers.

1.Go to Nearpod.com.  Enter class code

 

2.  Type your first name and click join session.

3. Today's slideshow will appear on your screen.  Follow along!

Part II: MLA Citation Style-title page

1. Rules

Rules for MLA formatting rules for writing papers/essays.

• 12 point Times New Roman/Arial font.
• Double spaced
• Last name and page number in right upper corner of EACH page.  (Open a blank google doc and show students how to insert a header.  Directions: From the “Insert” menu click on “Header & page number” select “Page number” and select the option that shows a page number on pages 1 and 2.  The page function will automatically number the pages for you. Place your space bar before the number 1 and type in your last name, followed by a single space.  Click outside of the Header box to return to the main document.)
• Format for top of first page: review with students.  Emphasize the date format.
• Titles of papers/essays should not be italicized or in bold (unless the title of your book appears in your title--then italicize that only.)

2. Sample papers

Take a look at the sample papers: OWL Sample MLA Paper and To Kill a Mockingbird Sample Paper

      

3. Review Mrs. Hulse’s sample paper

    What's wrong with Mrs. Hulse's sample paper?

 

4. Today's class: Respond using Nearpod to the following question: “What’s one thing you learned from today’s class?

5. Create a template following the MLA citation guidelines.

English I

Embedding/Blending Quotations and MLA Citation (updated 9-2018)

Objective: To understand how to effectively embed/blend quotations into literary analysis, to use MLA Style 8 in formal essays and papers.

ELA standards:

*CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.9-10.1

Cite strong and thorough textual evidence to support analysis of what the text says explicitly as well as inferences drawn from the text.

*CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.W.9-10.9

          Draw evidence from literary or informational texts to support analysis, reflection, and research.

 

1. Go to Nearpod.com.  Enter class code where it says “Enter Code.”

 

2.  Enter first name or nickname and click join session.

3. Today's slideshow will appear on your screen.  Follow along!

 

 

English I

Paraphrasing Mini Lesson (1-2018, V. Hulse)

Information literacy topics covered

• Definition of paraphrasing
• CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.W.9-10.2​ Write informative/explanatory texts to examine and convey complex ideas, concepts, and information clearly and accurately through the effective selection, organization, and analysis of content.
• Understand the importance of paraphrasing  
• Model and practice skill of paraphrasing through effective note-taking

1. Explain objective: To understand what paraphrasing is, explain the importance of this skill, recognize what paraphrasing is and how this skill helps you avoid plagiarizing information and ideas. Take notes by paraphrasing what you read.

 

2. Paraphrasing--What is it?  View slideshow. Show video.

 

3. Practice: Students practice paraphrasing using a gradual release model (I do, we do, you do)  

Hand out worksheet to students

• Ask students to read example 1 silently.
• I DO: Using “think aloud” method, demonstrate how to paraphrase example 1.

Re-read one sentence at a time and put in own words

Have students write the paraphrase on back side of paper with you.

• Ask students to read example 2.
• WE DO:  With volunteers from class, go sentence by sentence and paraphrase example 2 as a class.
• Ask students to read example 3.
• YOU DO: Ask students to paraphrase example 3 independently.  Fill out response on google form. Share responses via google sheets.
• Discuss how the practice went--(strengths, challenges)

4. Wrap Up Discussion: How will paraphrasing help you with taking notes?