Introduction to Podcasting (updated 5-2022)
Information literacy topics covered
Communicating new knowledge
Using technology tools
1. Objective: To listen to a part of a podcast, and reflect on the presentation form to identify its relevant elements; to view the steps to recording and editing in Audacity in preparation for creating their own podcasts.
Learning Expectations: Academic: “Students will speak and listen effectively in order to comprehend ideas and information, collaborate, and present knowledge and ideas to a variety of audiences.”
2. Discussion/Presentation
What is a podcast?
All podcasts really are is good, old-fashioned radio drama. Whether the format be a monologue, interview, panel discussion, or a fully-produced, in-depth investigation of some social topic with a host of characters, a podcast is an oral story meant to draw in the listener, and hold their attention.
A podcast is also a great way to collaborate with other students and communicate what you have learned.
What does a podcast sound like?
- The topics and formats of podcasts are ENDLESS. Some possible examples of different formats are single-speaker broadcasts, conversations and panel discussions, and interviews.
The content can revolve around personal reflections, or hard research on specific social/political/science topics.
3. Listen to 5 minutes of one of these podcasts.
Forever is a Long Time
Format: Interviews on a theme, mixed with host’s personal reflections.
Topic: On marriage and divorce.
Sample: Part I: My Parents, Ellen and Tom
Heavyweight
Format: Interviews on a theme, mixed with host’s personal reflections.
Topic: On unfinished business in life.
Sample: #38 Justine
Maintenance Phase
Format: Conversation between two hosts, mixed with reporting and opinions on a theme.
Topic: Debunking questionable health and wellness trends.
Sample (start at 1:13 to 6:30): Jordan Peterson Part I: The Carnivore Diet
4. Discussion:
How is a podcast structured? What are its elements?
Key points:
- Podcasts are essentially spoken narratives. They can take the form of a monologue, interview, panel discussion, or fully-produced, in-depth investigation of some social topic with a host of characters.
- It is important that you have some experience listening to a podcast BEFORE making your own, or the temptation will be to write something and just read it into the microphone.
- Elements of a podcast:
- Narrators and Principal Speakers: single host, two-person conversation, round table.
- Supporting characters: Interviewees, previously recorded “archival” speakers.
- Content (information): researched information, scripted or impromptu narration, archival speakers, archival sound/music as content.
- Background music: meant to support, but not overwhelm speech. Can also be used for transitions.
- Incidental sound: used for emphasis, or to create a sense of place.
- Lots of material available online, like this introductory lesson from the NYTimes: Project Audio: Teaching Students How to Produce Their Own Podcasts.
What kind of podcast would be most effective to show your learning, but still be entertaining to listen to?
- Discuss….
What is the best recording tool?
Key points:
- Search online to find the tool that best meets your needs.
- Tools should be free, easy-to-use, and allow editing and exporting of recordings.
- Most programs can only be installed on student laptops by the Technology department.
- I like Audacity, and it is on student computers.
- Follow these simple steps to record and edit in Audacity.
5. Make your own podcast.
- No ideas? Use one of these 1000 Writing Prompts.
Resources
There are THOUSANDS of podcasts, and many, many recommendations available, like the New Yorker’s The Best Podcasts of 2021.
Resources
There are THOUSANDS of podcasts, and many, many recommendations available, like the New Yorker’s The Best Podcasts of 2021.
Chris Borelli
American Government and Economic Policy
Best Sources for “If I Could Change the Constitution”
Information literacy topics:
-Determining best sources
-Searching strategies for information
-Communicating new knowledge
-Creating/Writing a research-based product
-Using technology tools
Find the activities for this class at:
Amity library→Find Online Stuff→History/Social Studies→Class Projects→Borelli→Best Sources for “If I Could Change the Constitution”
1. Objective:
To locate sources for researching constitutional issues; To develop database searching techniques;To produce a research paper with varied, credible resources.
Learning Expectations:
Academic-Writing: Students will produce and distribute a variety of writing designed to entertain, inform, or argue, as well build and present knowledge derived from research.
Academic-Reading: Students read closely to determine explicit and implicit meaning in a text and/ or to determine central ideas or themes.
2. Discussion:
You've been given the power to change the Constitution, but with that power comes great responsibility. As you know, it’s quite difficult to change the Constitution, so you’ll have to make a strong case. So, how are you going to approach that?
3. Presentation: Choosing the best resources and search.
Suggestions of sources:
List of print books that may assist your research. All books are located in your classroom.
b. Use databases.
Visit Amity Library →Go to Online Stuff→By Database Name
The database list is in alphabetical order. Recommended databases for this project are:
How to navigate a database:
School Product Database:
Main points:
- Take note of your surroundings: Look at pictures, headings, etc. Decide on a starting point for the search.
- Search box:
- Subject headings or Keyword?... what’s the difference?)
- Notice what appears when you type KEYWORD “flag burning”, look at 762+ results.
Notice the number of hits for each Source Type
- Too many results? Results not really relevant? Add more words to narrow down: amendment? 162 results
- Too few results? Remove words to broaden your search.
- Save good candidates to look at later.
- Link to Google to save searches and results.
- Use more advanced techniques:
- Try with synonyms or related words
- Use commands (“operators”) to narrow down (and (to get both terms), or (for one OR the other), not (to filter out the word), apostrophes around several words like “flag burning” to get the exact phrase, maybe with more terms, like “election”:
- Shortcuts: Look for shortcuts, like “Leading Issues”, and then “All Leading Issues”, and choosing to view the “A - Z”.
- Use Advanced Search for more power
- Start simple. You can always add more words to narrow down.
- Use checkbox ¨limiters” to LIMIT your search by:
Source types: Newspapers? Magazines? Reference? etc.
and whatever else is offered
- When you identify a good source/article:
- Follow up on subject leads that appear in relevant articles as “Related Subjects” (how about “Elections, Corrupt Practices” and “Election Law”?)
- Refine results, limit to sources, dates, formats you want.
- Save your chosen results to avoid losing stuff (use personal lists, email, Save to Google Drive, notes/citation tools, etc.).
- Save your articles so you can create your citation in Noodletools.
Multidisciplinary database:
EBSCO’s Academic Search Complete: Information from many different fields, with a mix of periodicals, and lots of peer-review journals, and a college-level search functions.
Use the same strategies, but it is more powerful, gives more options, less “teaching” help.
Main points:
- Take note of your surroundings: Look at main menus, search options, etc..
- Decide on a starting point for search.
- Search box:
- Always give yourself more “Search Options”: Boolean? All? Any? ???
- Always limit to full-text.
- Notice what appears when you start to type “amendment flag burning”. How many results do you get? (2,197)
- Notice the number of hits for each Source Type: Academic Journals, Book Reviews, Magazines, Newspapers, etc..
- Notice other “limiters” in the left sidebar. Which are useful for our search? Limit by Academic Journals (1,009)
- Use Advanced search for more power
- Start simple. You can always add more words to narrow down.
- Consider what you are searching for: Subject? Word in text?
- Use checkbox ¨limiters¨to LIMIT your search by:
- Full-text.
- “Search modes” like: Boolean? All? Any?
and whatever else is offered
- Too many results and not really relevant? Add more words to narrow down.
- Too few results? Broaden your search with fewer words.
- Save good candidates to look at later.
- Use more advanced techniques:
- Try with synonyms or related words (race, racist, or slave, slavery, etc.)
- Use commands (“operators”) to narrow down: AND (to get both terms), OR (for one OR the other), NOT (to filter out the word), apostrophes around words
- When you identify a good source/article:
- Save your chosen results to avoid losing stuff--add to Google Drive.
- The first click is very important as it contains all of the necessary information for you to create your citation in Noodletools.
c. Use websites:
You are free to use other sources, HOWEVER, you must make sure they are credible. Everything from the list I’ve provided has already been deemed credible. If you use sources outside of this list, you will need to verify the reliability and credibility of the sources. It’s an added step to the research process, so consider your options carefully before you decide to add more work to your plate.
Here’s a brief review of how to determine credibility of a source (focus on slides 14-18).
Borelli
Modern American History
Review of Citations and References (updated V. Hulse 9-2019)
Information literacy topics:
-Taking notes
-Organizing source citations
-References
-Using technology tools
Objective: To use a web citation generator (NoodleTools) to create citations and bibliographic references.
During class:
1: Find the activities for this class, at:
Google Amity library→Choose first result
(tab) Find Online Stuff→By Subject Guide→History
(tab) Class Projects →Borelli→ Review to Citations and References (top box)
2. Sign in to NoodleTools account and update.
Activate your own personal account through your @amityschools.org Google account.
- Sign in to Google Drive.
- Go to Google Apps.
-Click on “More”
- Click on NoodleTools.
- Update your profile.
3. Practice: create a project to begin citations.
3.a. Click on “New Project”.
3.b. Enter a “Project Title”.
3.c. Choose “Chicago/Turabian” style (for this History class), and click the “Advanced” citation level for full functionality. Click “Submit”.
3.d. Write a “Research Question” (think of something related to your topic).
3.e. Write a “Thesis” statement. This is the statement or question you will prove or discuss.
3.f. Click the “Projects” tab to view your project list.
3.g. Click on the name of your project to open it.
3.h. Click on the “Sources” tab. You are now ready to cite a source.
4. Practice: Create a citation for this DATABASE article.
4.a. Go to this article from the ABC-Clio database American History: titled “Alexander Hamilton”
4.b. Create a citation for this article.
4.c. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Note that the choice here refers to WHERE the source was found, not what KIND of source it is. Choose “Database”.
4.d. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”.Choose “Original Content in Database” (because the citation shows this article was written for this database).
4.e. Fill in the appropriate boxes.
4.f. Click “Submit”.
4.g. Check your citation. Does it match?
O'Brien, Steven G. "Alexander Hamilton." American History.
http://americanhistory.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/246962.
5. Practice: Creating a MANUAL citation for a website.
Create a MANUAL citation for a website.
5.a. Go to this website.
5.b. From the Sources tab, click on “Create a New Citation”.
5.c. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Choose “Web Site”.
5.d. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”. Choose “Web Page”.
5.e. Start filling in as much information as you can, copying from the article, and adjusting the text as needed. Notice the pop-up hints.
5.f. Click “Submit”.
5.g. Check your citation. Does it match?
O'Keefe, Kieran J. "Alexander Hamilton." George Washington's Mount Vernon. Accessed September 4, 2019. https://www.mountvernon.org/library/
digitalhistory/digital-encyclopedia/article/alexander-hamilton/.
6. Practice: Create a MANUAL citation for a database article.
6.a. Go to this article titled: “The Federalist Papers: from Practical politics to high principle”, database Academic Search Complete
6.b. Back in NoodleTools, from the Sources tab, click on “Create a New Citation”.
6.c. Answer the question “Where is it?”. Once again choose “Database”.
6.d. Answer the question “WHAT is it?”. Choose “Journal” because this is an article in a journal called “Harvard Journal of Law & Public Policy”.
6.e. Start filling in as much information as you can, copying from the article:
-DOI (Direct Object Identifier): there is none listed
-URL: find the "permalink" on the right, because it does not change.
-Name of database: find it
-Most recent date of access: (today)
-Author: find it
-Article title: find it
-Pages: find it
-Name of journal: find it
-Volume: find it
-Issue: find it
-Publication date: find it
-Series: there is none listed
6.f. Click “Submit”.
6.g. Check your citation. Does it match?
Epstein, Richard A. "The Federalist Papers: From practical politics to high
principle." Harvard Journal of Law & Public Policy 16, no. 1 (Winter 1993):
13-21. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx? direct=true&AuthType=ip,
sso&db=a9h&AN=9604120671&site=ehost-live&custid=s9389921.
7. New York Times: https://www.nytimes.com/roomfordebate/2015/08/24/should-birthright-citizenship-be-abolished
Do you know how to...
- create a footnote?
- export your references?
Chicago Style Resources
Citing Chicago Style - Quick Guide
Excellent set of examples published online by the University of Chicago Press (straight from the horse's mouth).
Citing Chicago Style - Purdue OWL
Very practical and reliable guide published by renowned Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL).
Sample Chicago-style paper:
Footnotes and bibliography style paper (works best with Google Docs)
C. Borelli
US History 2
Information literacy topics:
Determining best sources
Searching strategies for information
Evaluating sources
Using technology tools
Objective: To learn to access appropriate online research sources, to practice effective searching strategies, and to summarize information from text.
Go to activity guide online at:
Amity website→High School→AHS Library Information Center
Find Online Stuff→By Subject→History→Class Projects →Borelli
Part One: Effective Search Strategies
What are you searching for?
What steps are best to follow?
Is this completely new to you or do you have prior knowledge?
Are you able to do some basic research in an encyclopedia?
Do you enter the whole question into the search field? Why or why not?
Then what DO you enter into the search field?
Using Boolean searching strategies:
Additional searching strategies and information found here.
Question: This law was enacted to alleviate concerns raised by Samuel Hopkins Adams, Florence Kelley and Harvey W. Wiley. One of its early challenges was in the United States v. Forty Barrels and Twenty Kegs of Coca-Cola case. What was the law?
What would be a keyword you would choose?
Would you pull a word directly from the question?
Would you create your own?
How would you enter it in the search field?
Part Two: Using the Library Catalog and Databases
Search our library catalogs from Destiny Quest to find all our printed books, magazines and journals, textbooks, encyclopedias, music CDs, movies (DVD and VHS).
Online Resources:
 |
SIRS provides resources for many subject areas: arts and humanities, government, civics, economics, world events, 20th Century history.
|
|
|
The History Reference Center features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and academic journals. This content includes historical documents, biographies of historical figures, full-text reference books, encyclopedias, history books, historical photos and maps, and historical video. FROM OFF CAMPUS YOU NEED YOUR PUBLIC LIBRARY CARD CODE
|
 |
|
